Close
Top

Sustaining Our Planet

We are heading towards a 4°C world. We must act now, together, to secure a more viable future for all.

Data and science point to the urgency of reversing the harm done to our planet. We have barely a decade left to achieve the 2030 United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) while we race to urgently reduce and remove carbon emissions to avoid breaching the planet's tipping point of +1.5 degrees Celsius.

As an investor, we have a critical role to play in the successful transition to a net zero carbon economy by 2050. In September 2020, Temasek became a supporter of the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures. We are also encouraging our portfolio companies to identify and share consistent, comparable and forward looking information on risks and opportunities they face as a result of climate change. This information is essential for us, as we seek to support sustainable businesses with the aim of building an economy that is resilient to climate-related uncertainties.

Through collective efforts with like-minded partners, we catalyse ideas to achieve a better and more resilient world. We held the 6th edition of Ecosperity since 2014 — to twin ecology and prosperity as a sustainable pathway for growth. The ultimate goal is to achieve an abc World of active and productive economies, beautiful and inclusive societies, and a clean, cool Earth.

At Temasek, sustainability is at the core of everything we do. We strive to become more sustainable in the way we operate: embedding sustainability in our investment approach and encouraging our portfolio companies to embark on their own sustainability journeys.

Our Sustainability Goals

1 Figures are based on estimates for Scope 1 and 2 emissions.

2 Carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e) is a standard unit used to compare emissions from different types of greenhouse gases.

Our belief in protecting the environment is underscored by our commitment to better managing the resources that we use in our operations.

Operating Sustainably

We achieved carbon neutrality for our company last year. By 2030, we aim to reduce net emissions attributable to our portfolio to seven million tonnes of CO2 equivalent, which represents half the estimated carbon emissions in 2010 and approximately a quarter of current emissions. This will be a decade long journey, working with our portfolio companies on their carbon reduction plans.

We started measuring our environmental footprint and have established a comparison of these key metrics over the past three years. We have developed ongoing plans to further reduce our emissions and resource use relating to our operations and have purchased carbon credits that will go towards supporting projects to offset the impact of our unavoidable emissions. While we are on a positive trajectory, there is more we can, and need to do.

For a detailed breakdown, please click here to view our emissions table

The carbon credits that we purchased to offset emissions resulting from our operations over this financial year, supported two forest restoration and conservation projects in Indonesia and Kenya. The project in Indonesia aims to prevent deforestation, peatland drainage and fires while the project in Kenya aims to protect and restore biodiversity and boost local employment.

Our staff have also championed several initiatives such as mass tree planting, to contribute to a more sustainable future.

Embedding Sustainability in our Investment Approach

We incorporate sustainability-related assessments when evaluating our investments. Our teams employ a broad-based research approach to assess company-level Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) information, as well as relevant industry, thematic and macro sustainability considerations.

Even as we engage our existing portfolio companies on their carbon reduction plans, we actively seek out new investments which have track records of better carbon intensity and efficiency.

We will also seek out companies with business models that achieve carbon avoidance such as renewable energy and plant-based proteins, or carbon negative businesses and solutions that combat climate change, such as nature-based solutions.

We are exploring other opportunities to support sustainable solutions and climate actions, such as investing in carbon capture, sequestration and utilisation solutions, and developing a hydrogen economy.

Advocating Sustainability across our Network

Companies which manage ESG factors effectively, and recognise their importance, are more likely to create sustainable value over the long term. As an owner, we are committed to encouraging the companies in which we invest to embrace sustainable ways of doing business.

We have assessed the carbon footprint of listed companies in our portfolio and estimated the emissions for our private holdings. Key metrics, such as carbon intensity and carbon efficiency, will allow us to gain deeper insights into the carbon exposure of our portfolio and set the stage for targeted portfolio engagement activities.

We aim to collaborate with our portfolio companies to halve the net carbon emissions of our portfolio by 2030, and work towards achieving net zero carbon emissions by 2050. To help progress this goal, we will support our portfolio companies on their carbon measurement and reduction initiatives. Over the past year, we invited our Singapore-based portfolio companies to climate awareness sessions and shared with them knowledge and tools for carbon measurement and reporting according to international standards.

Califia Farms: Striving for Sustainability

Califia Farms has made its name with sustainable and healthy products such as non-dairy plant milk made from oats, almonds, and coconuts

The non-dairy milk produced by the company requires far less water and land compared to traditional dairy milk production. Production of non-dairy plant milk also emits up to 80% fewer greenhouse gases compared to dairy milk.

While the company has made strides on the sustainability front, it has not rested on its laurels.

Califia Farms constantly strives to reduce waste and the carbon footprint that results from various aspects of its operations including farming, production, and packaging

Its focus on sustainability starts with its raw materials. Since 2015, the company has ensured that it only uses almonds that are sourced and processed within a 20-mile (32-km) radius of its main bottling facility in Bakersfield, California.

The company's almond growers own honeybee hives, which allows them to control and monitor the health of the bees.

Califia Farms' almond growers in California's San Joaquin Valley ensure that the bees have access to areas of wild forage, which offers diverse sources of food.

To grow almond trees, farmers use an Integrated Pest Management system that reduces the need for herbicides, fungicides, and pesticides that can harm the environment. The company also taps a micro drip irrigation system and live weather monitoring technology to water the trees in its orchards. This has improved water efficiency in the orchards by over 30% compared to flood irrigation.

Califia Farms' almonds are grown in orchards and processed within a 20-mile (32-km) radius of its primary bottling facility in Bakersfield, California.

In terms of packaging, the company aims to halve its use of virgin plastic by the end of 2020. To achieve this, it will switch to lightweight and recycled plastic materials. Its products are shipped in foam-free packaging, which is an alternative to styrofoam. These packaging improvements are expected to reduce carbon footprint by 15%.

The company's bottling facility recycles 100% of the water it uses. The water is used again to irrigate local farms. More than 50 million gallons (189 million liters) of water are recycled every year.

100% of the water used at Califia Farms' bottling facility in Bakersfield, California is recycled.

Califia Farms is also working to sustainably source key ingredients such as coffee beans via a Direct Trade partnership. This ensure transparency in the process and allows farmers to be paid fairly.

Underscoring the company's emphasis on producing healthy food, it has recently launched two vegan butter spreads, which are made without trans fats, canola oil, or palm oil. It has also halved the sugar content of its drinks over the last five years.

SATS: Growing with Purpose

To SATS, operating sustainably is crucial not only because it is good for the environment, it also ensures long term business success.

In recent years, the food solutions and gateway services provider has focused its sustainability efforts on tackling food waste and reducing carbon emissions.

The company minimises food waste through careful planning of its menus. Menus are streamlined with the aim of reducing complexity of food preparation and minimising food loss. This entails making use of pre-cuts or ready-to-cook raw materials, and even "ugly" food that may not look perfect on the surface but has the same quality and freshness as unblemished ingredients.

SATS plans its menus carefully to minimise food loss.

SATS is also in the process of introducing a digital integrated supply chain to optimise its supply chain for catering, merchandise and supplies across its flight networks. The system provides the company with information on upstream supply and downstream demand. By tapping on this information, the company is able to synergise procurement functions across key markets and avoid over production of meals or over procurement of ingredients.

SATS conducted a trial using a digital waste management system to monitor the food waste produced at its kitchens.

As part of its drive to reduce carbon footprint, SATS has partnered Sembcorp to introduce a series of green solutions at several of its facilities. One of the solutions is the installation of solar panels across all air freight terminals owned by SATS. The solar panels will provide 13% of SATS' total energy consumption. With the completed solar installations, SATS expects to reduce 4.3 million kg of carbon dioxide emissions annually which is equivalent to emissions produced by 925 cars.

SATS is installing solar panels on the rooftops of all its air freight terminals to reduce its carbon footprint.

SATS has deployed electric tractors at the baggage departments across Changi Airport Terminals 2, 3 and 4.

SATS has also rolled out a 10-year master plan to transition fully from diesel ground support equipment (GSEs) to electric ones by 2030. This will allow the company to reduce environmental impact resulting from its operations and energy costs. It will work with Changi Airport Group to set up electricity charging points at the airside section of the airport. These charging points will be managed with a system that uses data and predictive analytics to optimise utility and resource scheduling.

Since 2017, 93 diesel GSEs, which are mostly tractors but also include some forklifts and pallet trucks, have been converted to electric ones. Some 78 electric tractors have been deployed at the baggage departments across Changi Airport's Terminals 2, 3 and 4 and another 220 more will be deployed this year.

Catalysing Ideas

Over the past year, we supported projects that improved the efficiency of resource management in Singapore's public housing estates and explored the potential of tapping on nature to mitigate climate change.

We worked with SP Group and the Ministry of Environment and Water Resources in Singapore on a pilot project to transform Tampines, a residential estate in the eastern part of Singapore, into an "Eco Town". Initiatives for sustainable living such as in energy, water, and waste management were introduced in Tampines. We also supported an initiative to install "Eco Boards" in several public housing blocks. These digital displays use data to provide real time updates of the blocks' aggregated electricity and water usage. Residents can also track their carbon footprint and pick up tips to lower their consumption. This initiative will enable the town council to develop more efficient resource management strategies.

We funded a study to understand how blue carbon, which is the carbon stored in coastal and marine ecosystems, such as mangroves and seagrass, can mitigate climate change in Southeast Asia. Findings were shared with groups in both the public and private sectors.

Engaging with our Partners

Our annual Ecosperity conference was first held in 2014. It brings together key decision makers — business leaders, policymakers, investors and civil society — to share insights and best practices on sustainable development. This year, the conference has been postponed to 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, although we stepped up our regular engagements with our portfolio companies and the public through our Ecosperity Conversations series with more virtual sharing sessions. Highlights for the year included sessions on the environmental impact of our food in Singapore, energy transition pathways in Southeast Asia, and the ocean's importance to climate change.

We actively participate in investor and business networks that share our common vision of a future that provides equal opportunity and prosperity for all.

As a member of the Green Finance Working Group under the Monetary Authority of Singapore's Financial Centre Advisory Panel, we are actively involved in shaping recommendations to establish Singapore as a green finance node. We are also working with our portfolio companies to raise awareness of sustainable finance issues.

We are a member of the World Economic Forum (WEF), the Focusing Capital on the Long Term Initiative (FCLT Global) and the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB). We take part in dialogues which aim to promote responsible investing held by these organisations and others.

Together with Temasek Trust, we are represented on the United Nations Development Programme's Steering Group of SDG Impact, an initiative to develop impact measurement standards and promote global investments that achieve the SDGs. We also engage with like-minded partners who share our ambition of promoting investing for sustainability and impact, through forums such as the Global Impact Investing Network.

Active economy Productive jobs Sustainable cities Fulfilling lives
Beautiful Society Resilient individuals Inclusive communities Just societies
Clean earth Fresh air Clean water Cool world

An active, robust economy delivers good jobs and creates opportunities.

It is the foundation of stable, secure and sustainable societies. Productive workers can have a sense of pride and dignity, provide for their loved ones and themselves, and look to the future with confidence.

A beautiful and inclusive society fosters peace and justice, and enables individuals to reach their fullest potential.

Shared values that embrace justice and equality, and expand our common spaces, will strengthen our tolerance, mutual respect, and the ties that bind us together.

A clean, cool Earth is our home, a common space and heritage.

We must act today to preserve our living space for ourselves and our future generations. Fresh air, clean water and a cool world are Earth’s natural gifts, which we must treasure and protect as our legacy.

An active, robust economy delivers good jobs and creates opportunities.

It is the foundation of stable, secure and sustainable societies. Productive workers have a sense of pride and dignity, provide for their loved ones and themselves, and look to the future with confidence.

A beautiful and inclusive society fosters peace and justice, and enables individuals to reach their fullest potential.

Shared values that embrace justice and equality, and expand our common spaces, will strengthen our tolerance, mutual respect, and the ties that bind us together.

A clean, cool Earth is our home, a common space and heritage.

We must act today to preserve our living space for ourselves and our future generations. Fresh air, clean water and a cool world are Earth’s natural gifts, which we must treasure and protect as our legacy.


Doing our part for an abc World

Deepening our Commitment to Invest with Tomorrow in Mind

Organisations that manage Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) factors effectively are more likely to create sustainable value over the long term. As we carry out our investment analysis, we work to understand how sustainability-related factors may impact a company’s long term ability to generate sustainable returns and its standing.

As an owner, we are committed to encouraging companies to adopt policies and practices that safeguard and enhance long term performance. We regularly engage and share sustainability best practices and trends with our portfolio companies.

We continuously evolve ESG integration efforts across our investment process. To deepen our capability, we make use of relevant data sources and tools to enable robust decision-making. We take part in domestic and international discussions about definitions, priorities, standards and best practices. We also monitor sustainability-related trends relating to issues that may significantly impact our portfolio and our investment activities, such as climate change.

Capturing Value in Sustainability

Climate change, resource scarcity and social inequality form the sustainability issues that confront us globally. While these macro trends appear challenging, they also offer new opportunities to make a difference. The rise of the “green” and socially conscious consumer, climate change, sustainability-related regulations and technological advances have fostered the growth of new businesses and business models.

We work to understand these trends in order to position our portfolio for the future, and to seek new investible areas to capture sustainable value for Temasek and our portfolio companies.

Addressing Long Term Sustainability Challenges

To realise our vision of an abc World, we need to address long term challenges affecting Singapore and the region. Challenges include demographic issues such as ageing, developing affordable solutions to feed a growing population, and mitigating the environmental impact from increasing urbanisation. We have supported long term capability building in these areas, especially when there is a lack of existing support or an under-appreciation of the need. This includes funding the development of innovative solutions and approaches by leveraging innovative technologies, research, trials and pilot programmes.

The Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory rears faster-growing and more resilient sea bass to improve farming productivity

Innovative Solutions for a Clean, Cool Earth

District Cooling and Airbitat for NDP
A hybrid system that cools outdoor air to as low as 24°C was introduced at the National Day Parade (NDP) 2017. Spectators at the floating platform, security screening areas and fun pack collection areas welcomed the streams of cool air that helped to reduce the heat that would otherwise be built up. This was made possible by tapping SP Group’s underground district cooling network at Marina Bay to provide chilled water for ST Engineering’s cooling unit – the Airbitat Smart Cooler.

A family enjoying the breeze from the Airbitat Smart Cooler

Sustainable Financing & Impact Investing Course

In partnership with Singapore Management University, a new course on "Impact Investing – Risks & Opportunities Arising from Environmental, Social, and Governance Issues” was held in March 2018, to improve knowledge and skills in the integration of ESG considerations into investment decisions. This education initiative aligns with strong growth trends in impact investing.

Close

保护我们的地球

保护我们的地球

全球气温正朝着上升4摄氏度的方向发展。我们必须齐心同行,刻不容缓,才能拥有更宜居的未来。

许多数据和科学研究明确指出,挽回对地球伤害已是迫在眉睫。我们仅剩不到10年的时间来实现2030年联合国可持续发展目标。我们必须争分夺秒、减少碳排放,避免地球升温突破1.5摄氏度的临界点

对于到2050年成功实现净零碳经济的目标,作为投资者的我们可以起到关键作用。2020年9月,淡马锡正式成为气候相关财务信息披露工作组建议的支持者。我们鼓励投资组合公司去评估气候变化所带来的风险和机遇,持续分享大量前瞻信息。我们支持那些可持续发展的企业,他们旨在塑造富有韧性的经济,能够应对气候变化所带来的不确定性,因此,气候相关的信息至关重要。

通过与志同道合伙伴的共同努力,我们集思广益,以实现更美好、更具韧性的世界。自2014年起我们已举办了6届的“生态繁荣”会议,融合“生态”与“繁荣”双重含义,以可持续的方式实现经济增长。我们的最终目标是打造abc世界,拥有活跃高效的经济(active and productive economies)、美丽包容的社会(beautiful and inclusive societies)和洁净宜居的地球(clean, cool Earth)。

在淡马锡,可持续发展是我们一切行动所遵循的核心理念。我们致力于塑造更可持续的运营方式:在投资中融入可持续发展理念,并鼓励投资组合公司开启各自的可持续发展之路。

我们的可持续发展目标

数据是基于范围一和范围二排放量的估算。

二氧化碳当量 (CO2e) 是用来度量各种温室气体产生碳足迹的标准单位。

我们致力于保护环境,更好地管理运营资源。

可持续的运营方式

淡马锡在本财年实现了公司层面的碳中和。到2030年,我们计划将投资组合的净碳排放量总和降至700万吨二氧化碳当量,这相当于投资组合2010年估算碳排放量的一半,相当于目前碳排放量的约四分之一。在未来十年的旅程中,我们将与投资组合公司共同合作减排。

过去三年,我们开始对自己的环境足迹进行了评估,并对比了关键指标。我们制定了持续减少碳排放量和资源耗用的计划,进一步减少运营中的碳排放,并购买碳信用额度,抵消运营中无可避免的碳排放。我们正朝着积极的方向迈进,还有许多能做而且必须要做的。

请点击此处,参阅我们的碳排放量具体信息表。

淡马锡在本财年购买了碳信用额度以抵消运营产生的碳排放量,已资助了印度尼西亚和肯尼亚的两个森林修复和保护项目。印度尼西亚的项目旨在预防过度伐林、管理泥炭地排水和林火问题;肯尼亚的项目则旨在保护和恢复生物多样性及促进当地就业。

我们的员工也发起了数个倡议,如大规模植树活动,为更可持续发展的未来作出贡献。

在投资中融入可持续发展理念

我们将可持续发展的相关评估纳入投资考量。我们的团队采用基础广泛的研究方法来评估公司本身的环境、社会和治理信息,并把相关行业、主题和宏观可持续性等列为考量因素。

我们在与现有的投资组合公司交流其减碳计划的同时,也在积极探寻那些碳排放强度和效率表现更佳的新投资机会。

我们探寻那些商业模式能避免碳排放的公司,如可再生能源和植物蛋白业务,或是做到负碳排放的企业和应对气候变化的解决方案,比如以自然为本的解决方案。

我们正在探寻其他机遇,支持可持续发展解决方案和气候行动,例如投资于碳捕集、封存和使用的解决方案,同时促进氢经济的发展。

在我们的关系网络中倡导可持续发展理念

如果公司能够有效管理环境、社会和治理因素,并意识到其重要性,则更有可能创造长期可持续的价值。作为资产所有者,我们致力于鼓励所投资的公司采纳可持续的经营方式。

我们评估了投资组合中上市公司的碳足迹,估算了我们的非上市控股集团的碳排放量。碳排放强度和碳效率等关键指标,让我们可以深入洞悉投资组合公司的碳排放情况,为与投资组合的具体合作打下基础。

我们与投资组合公司并肩努力,到2030年将投资组合的净碳排放量减半,到2050年实现净零碳排放。为实现这一目标,我们将支持投资组合公司的碳计量和减碳的倡议。过去一年,我们邀请总部设在新加坡的投资组合公司参与气候意识研讨会,分享如何根据国际标准进行碳计量和提呈报告的知识和工具。

Califia Farms:力求可持续发展

Califia Farms以生产可持续的健康产品而闻名,如由燕麦、杏仁和椰子制成的非乳制植物奶。

与传统乳制品相比,该公司生产非乳制奶过程中所用到的水和土地少得多。同样的,生产非乳制奶比牛奶能减少高达80%的温室气体排放。

尽管公司在可持续发展方面取得进展,但并没有因此固步自封。

Califia Farms持续努力,从耕种、生产到包装等各运营环节中,减少废料和降低碳足迹。

农场注重研究可持续发展的原材料。自2015年,Califia Farms就确保公司所使用的杏仁,无论是货源或加工处,都在其位于加利福尼亚州贝克斯菲尔德的主要装瓶厂20英里(32公里)的半径范围内。

该公司的杏仁种植者拥有自己的蜜蜂蜂巢,能够监控蜜蜂的健康情况。

位于加利福利亚州圣华金河谷的Califia Farms杏仁种植者,确保蜜蜂可以飞到野生的草地觅食,获取多元化食物来源。

农夫采用综合害虫管控系统种植杏仁树,减少使用危害环境的除草剂、杀菌剂和农药。公司也使用微滴灌系统和实时天气监测技术灌溉果树,这比漫灌的灌溉法节省至少30%的用水量。

Califia Farms的杏仁果园和加工厂,都在加利福尼亚州贝克斯菲尔德主要装瓶厂的20英里(32公里)半径范围内。

在包装方面,公司的目标是在2020年底将原始塑料的使用量减半。为实现这一目标,它将改用轻质可回收塑料。产品运输时,以无泡沫包装取代发泡胶。这些改进后的包装有望将碳足迹减少15%。

公司的装瓶厂也将用过的水全部回收,用来灌溉当地农场。公司每年共回收超过5000万加仑(1.89亿升)的水。

Califia Farms位于加利福尼亚州贝克斯菲尔德的装瓶厂将用过的水全部回收。

Califia Farms也致力通过直接贸易(Direct Trade)伙伴、以可持续的方式采购咖啡豆等主要原料,确保采购过程透明,农民获得公平报酬。

为了凸显公司对生产健康食品的重视,公司最近推出两种纯素奶油酱,这些酱不含反式脂肪、菜籽油或棕榈油。在过去五年里,公司也将其饮料中的糖分含量减半。

新翔集团:愿景引领成长

对提供航空膳食的新翔集团来说,可持续发展的运营方式至关重要,这不仅对环境有利,还确保业务取得长期成功。

近年来,该集团聚焦以可持续的途径解决食物浪费和减少碳排放。

新翔集团通过精心设计的菜品,简化食物准备的复杂过程,减少浪费食物,包括使用预先切好或可直接烹饪的食材,甚至对外形“不美观”的食物精心烹制,体现不完美外表下的优质和新鲜。

新翔集团精心设计菜色,减少食物浪费。

新翔集团也引进数字集成供应链,优化其整个航空网络中的膳食供应、商品和耗材用品的供应链。该系统为公司同时提供上游供应和下游需求的相关信息。通过这些信息,该集团能在主要市场协调采购工作,避免生产过多的餐食或采购过量的食材。

新翔集团试用一套数字废料管理系统,以监控食物浪费。

为减少碳足迹,新翔集团与胜科合作,在多个设施引进一系列环保解决方案。其中之一是在新翔集团所有的航空货运站安装太阳能板,为集团提供总用电量的13%。太阳能电池板安装完毕后,新翔集团希望每年减少430万公斤的二氧化碳排放量,相当于925辆汽车的碳排放量。

新翔集团在旗下所有航空货运站的屋顶安装太阳能板,减少公司的碳足迹。

新翔集团已在樟宜机场第二、第三和第四搭客大厦的行李部门,采用电动行李牵引车。

新翔集团也推出10年总蓝图,到2030年将柴油驱动的地面支援设备全面转为电动设备,减少运营和能源成本对环境的影响。集团将与樟宜机场集团合作在机场空侧区设置充电站。这些充电站由一个数据和预测分析系统管理,从而优化充电站的电力使用和资源调配。

自2017年起,93辆柴油驱动的地面支援设备转为电动设备,这当中以行李牵引车为主,其他有叉车和装卸车。约78台电动行李牵引车已在第二、第三和第四搭客大厦的行李部门运行,另有多220台会在今年启用。

思想火花

过去一年里,我们支持提升新加坡公共住房资源管理效率的项目,并探寻使用自然资源缓解气候变化的可能性。

淡马锡与新加坡能源集团和新加坡环境及水源部合作展开试点项目,引进能源、水源和废料管理等方面可持续发展的倡议,把新加坡东部的住宅区淡滨尼打造为“环保小镇”。我们也支持一项在多个公共住屋中安装“环保显示器”的计划,这些显示器能实时更新各栋组屋的综合耗电和耗水量。居民也可以追踪自己的碳足迹,了解降低用量的方法。这项计划将让市镇理事会能够制定更有效的资源管理策略。

淡马锡资助了有关蓝碳如何缓解东南亚气候变化的一项研究。蓝碳是藏在海岸带和海洋生态系统中的碳,多存储于红树林和海草等植物中。研究结果已与公共及私人部门分享。

交流合作

我们的年度“生态繁荣”会议于2014年首次举行,汇集了商业领袖、政策制定者、投资者和民间组织等关键决策者,分享可持续发展的见解和最佳做法。由于受冠病疫情的影响,今年的会议延至2021年举行。不过,我们举办了多场网上会议,加强与投资组合公司及公众的定期交流。本年度聚焦的重点主题包括食品对新加坡环境的影响、东南亚的能源转换趋势,以及海洋对气候变化的重要性。

我们积极参与拥有共同愿景的投资者和业务网络,为所有人提供平等的机会和带来繁荣。

淡马锡作为新加坡金融管理局金融中心咨询团绿色金融工作小组的成员,我们积极提出建议,将新加坡打造成绿色金融中心。 我们也与投资组合公司合作,提高可持续金融课题的认识。

淡马锡是世界经济论坛、长期关注资本倡议和可持续发展会计准则委员会的成员,我们积极参与这些组织和其他机构举办的对话,推动负责任的投资。

我们和淡马锡信托基金会参加了联合国开发计划署的可持续发展目标影响力指导小组。这个倡议旨在制定发展影响力评估标准和促进全球投资,以实现可持续发展目标。淡马锡也通过全球影响力投资网络等论坛,与志同道合的合作伙伴交流,促进可持续发展和影响力投资。

活跃的经济 高效的工作 可持续的城市 幸福的生活
美丽的社会 充满活力的个人 包容的社群 公平的社会
洁净的地球 清新的空气 洁净的水源 清爽的世界

活跃繁荣的经济,带来了良好的就业机会,创造机遇。

这是社会稳定、安全与实现可持续发展的基础。高效工作的劳动者有自豪感也有尊严,在照顾自己和挚爱的同时,对未来充满信心。

美丽和包容的社会不但有助于促进和平与公正,也同时让个人发挥出的最大潜能。

社会公正与平等,有广阔的公共空间,大家志同道合,彼此宽容、互相尊重,紧密地联系在一起。

洁净清爽的地球是我们的家园,也让我们共享空间和财富。

我们必须立即行动,为自己和未来世代保护生活的空间。清新的空气、洁净的水源和清爽的地球是大自然的馈赠,我们有义务珍惜和保护。

活跃繁荣的经济,带来了良好的就业机会,创造机遇。 这是社会稳定、安全与实现可持续发展的基础。高效工作的劳动者有自豪感也有尊严,在照顾自己和挚爱的同时,对未来充满信心

美丽和包容的社会不但有助于促进和平与公正,也同时让个人发挥出最大潜能。

社会公正与平等,有广阔的公共空间,大家志同道合,彼此宽容、互相尊重,紧密地联系在一起。

洁净清爽的地球是我们的家园,也让我们共享空间和财富。

我们必须立刻付诸行动,为自己和未来世代保护生活的空间。清新的空气、洁净的水源和清爽的地球是大自然的馈赠,我们有义务珍惜和保护。

abc世界献一份力

强化我们着眼未来的承诺

有效管理环境、社会和治理因素的机构,更有可能创造长期可持续的价值。我们进行投资分析时,会了解可持续发展相关的因素将如何影响一家公司长期创造可持续回报的能力及其声誉。

作为资产所有者,我们致力于鼓励公司在制定政策和实践时,以确保强化长期表现为考量。我们定期与投资组合公司交流,分享可持续发展的最佳实践和趋势。

淡马锡在投资过程中,会持续考虑环境、社会和治理因素。我们利用相关数据来源和工具以做出稳健决策,从而增强能力。我们参加国内和国际会议,讨论可持续发展的定义、重点、标准和最佳实践。我们也密切关注气候变化等可持续发展趋势相关的议题。这些议题对我们的投资组合及投资活动带来显著影响。

获得可持续价值

气候变化、资源匮乏和社会不平等是全球面对的可持续问题。尽管这些宏观趋势具有挑战性,它们也带来了开拓创新的新机遇。消费者的环保和社会责任意识越来越强,再加上气候变化、可持续相关法规日趋完善、科技进步等趋势,新企业和商业模式蓬勃发展。

我们努力了解这些趋势,确保我们的投资组合与时俱进,并寻求新的值得投资的领域,为淡马锡和投资组合公司实现可持续价值。

应对长期可持续挑战

要实现ABC世界的愿景,我们须应对新加坡和本区域的长期挑战,包括人口老龄化、为日益增长的人口和粮食需求提供低成本解决方案、减缓城市化提高所造成的环境影响等。我们支持这方面的长期能力建设,尤其是那些缺乏帮助或需求被低估的情况。我们采取的途径包括利用创新技术、研究、试验和试点计划,来资助开发创新方案和措施。

 

淡马锡生命科学实验室培育了生长更快、适应能力更强的鲈鱼,以提高养殖生产力

利用创新方案,打造洁净清爽的地球

为国庆庆典提供区域冷却系统和Airbitat智能冷气机
2017年国庆庆典引进了一套新的冷却混合式系统,让户外气温降至24摄氏度。无论是浮动舞台、安检区或礼包领取处的观众,都可在炎炎夏日享受到冷气。为达到这种效果,新加坡能源集团在滨海湾地下安装了区域冷却系统,为新加坡科技工程有限公司的Airbitat智能冷气机提供了冷却水。

一家人享受着Airbitat智能冷气机吹出的凉风

可持续融资和影响力投资课程
淡马锡与新加坡管理大学在2018年3月联合开创新课程 —“影响力投资:环境、社会与治理问题所带来的风险和机遇”,以提高知识与技能,将环境、社会和治理因素融入投资决策中。这项教育计划是为满足影响力投资强劲增长趋势。