Close

How We Invest

We work to deliver sustainable value over the long term as an active investor and an engaged owner.

Our investment philosophy has been guided by four long term investment themes that encompass Transforming Economies; Growing Middle Income Populations; Deepening Comparative Advantages; and Emerging Champions.

In applying these themes, we look at investments through the lens of key structural trends, to shape our long term portfolio construction and guide our investment activities. Over the year, we refreshed our thinking and sharpened our investment focus for the coming years, along four structural trends:

Digitisation and Sustainable Living will have a pervasive impact across many sectors. Future of Consumption and Longer Lifespans reflect structural shifts in consumption patterns and growing needs of longevity.

We expect to increasingly shape our portfolio in line with such trends. This includes deeper engagements with our portfolio companies to identify threats and relevant transformation opportunities. We also invest in companies that are developing innovative solutions to disrupt current business models or create new ones.

We aim to build a forward looking and resilient portfolio that can deliver sustainable and equitable economic growth, and enable the transition to a low carbon economy. We deploy capital to catalyse innovations and solutions to benefit this and future generations.

Our Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) framework helps us identify sustainability-related risks and opportunities in the investments we make and the portfolio we own. It also supports our ambition to halve the net carbon emissions of our portfolio over 2010 levels by 2030, and to achieve net zero carbon emissions by 2050.

The transitions to low carbon and digital economies will bring about fundamental changes to businesses and jobs, and give rise to new challenges, such as data privacy. We work to enable fair and just transitions that care for the interests of employees and partners along the supply and value chain.

Decent jobs, diverse and inclusive workplaces are foundational to resilient communities. We encourage portfolio companies in their efforts to upskill and reskill their workforce.

Robust corporate governance includes the purpose of a company and the values of its people, the role and makeup of boards of directors, the rights of shareholders and the interest of stakeholders, and the balance between short term and long term performance measurement. These are essential underpinnings of a forward looking and resilient institution.

Our investment discipline focuses on intrinsic value and our risk-return framework. This risk-return framework drives our investment focus, capital allocation, performance measurement and incentive system.

For each investment we make, we conduct bottom-up intrinsic value tests, with expected returns evaluated against a risk-adjusted cost of capital. This risk-adjusted cost of capital is derived using a capital asset pricing model. Investments in riskier sectors or markets have higher costs of capital. We use risk-adjusted cost of capital to normalise the risks in order to compare the relative attractiveness among investment opportunities.

We also include a current internal carbon price of US$42 per tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent (tCO2e), to assess the possible climate transition impact and to further guide our investment decisions.

From 1 April 2021, we have started adding an illiquidity risk premium to our cost of capital for unlisted investments, and a venture risk premium to our cost of capital for early stage investments.

We have full flexibility as an owner and investor to reshape and rebalance our portfolio, whenever opportunities or challenges arise. We are predominantly invested in equities. Based on our risk-return appetite, we invest or divest in line with our outlook and value tests. We may take concentrated positions or remain in cash, and do not set limits for asset classes, countries or sectors. We manage our liquidity and balance sheet for resilience.

We are an active shareholder, seeking to add or create value in our portfolio across all stages of enterprise growth, from early stage to mature companies. We proactively promote good governance, looking to boards to drive strategy and oversee management, who, in turn, run their respective companies.

The Portfolio Development function, which was established in 2020, works together with our major portfolio companies to enhance value through partnerships, innovation, growth strategies and transformational possibilities.

Our portfolio comprises both listed and unlisted assets, including investments in funds. Mature, Singapore-based companies such as Mapletree, PSA and SP Group make up just over a third of our unlisted portfolio. Investments in private equity and credit funds have been instrumental in helping us gain deeper insights into new markets or sub-sectors of specialisation, and have provided co-investment opportunities. They make up just over a quarter of our unlisted portfolio. Other private companies such as Ant Financial, Ceva Santé Animale, Global Healthcare Exchange, GoTo Group, Haldor Topsoe, Schneider Electric India Private Limited, Verily Life Sciences, Watsons and WuXi AppTec, also make up about a quarter of our unlisted portfolio.

We have made selective investments in early stage companies which provide us with insights into innovation in technology and business models. This enables us to better assess future opportunities and segments, and understand potential implications for our broader portfolio, while potentially delivering attractive risk-adjusted returns. As of March 2021, early stage investments make up less than 10% of our unlisted portfolio.

 

Our unlisted portfolio is a source of steady dividends and distributions. Over the last 10 years, our unlisted portfolio has generated returns of over 10% per annum.

From time to time, we may express our interest to invest or divest selected positions or manage our portfolio through derivatives. We may also use derivatives to hedge currency and/or protect against potential losses of our underlying investments, where gains and losses of the derivatives are matched against corresponding losses and gains in the underlying investments.

Top

Close

投资理念与策略

作为积极活跃的投资者和资产所有者,淡马锡专注于创造长期可持续的价值。

 

我们的投资理念一直遵循四大长期投资主题,即转型中的经济体、增长中的中产阶级、显著的比较优势和新兴的龙头企业。

在这些投资主题下,我们洞悉主要的结构性趋势,探索投资机会。这些趋势引导我们塑造长期投资组合和进行投资活动。在这一财年,我们开拓思路,明确未来数年的投资重点,把握四大结构性趋势:

数字化进程和可持续的生活影响着各行各业的方方面面,未来新消费和更长的寿命这两大趋势则反映了消费模式的结构性转变以及人们对长寿的向往。

我们顺应这些趋势,不断塑造投资组合,这包括与现有投资组合公司深度交流,判断风险和相关的转型机遇。我们也投资于那些开发创新方案来颠覆现有商业模式、创造新模式的企业。

我们致力于塑造具有前瞻性和韧性的投资组合,推动实现更可持续和平衡的经济增长,为低碳经济转型赋能。我们投入资本,促成创新与解决方案,造福世代。

我们的环境、社会和治理(ESG)框架帮助我们识别在投资和投资组合中所面临的可持续相关风险和随之而来的机遇。这一框架支持我们践行愿景,力争到2030年实现投资组合净碳排放量总和减为2010年排放水平的一半、到2050年实现净零碳排放。

向低碳和数字经济的转型将给企业和就业带来根本性的变化,并面对数据隐私等新的挑战。我们努力赋能企业实现公平公正的转型,顾及整个供应链和价值链中员工和合作伙伴的利益福祉。

体面的工作、多样化和包容性的工作环境是社群具备韧性的基础条件。我们鼓励投资组合公司努力帮助员工提升现有技能和掌握新技能。

健全的公司治理包括公司的使命和员工的价值观、董事会的作用和构成、股东的权利和相关方的利益,同时平衡短期和长期绩效衡量。这些是着眼未来和富有韧性的机构所具备的基础。

我们的投资原则注重内涵价值以及是否符合风险回报框架。该风险回报框架引导着淡马锡的投资重点、资金配置、绩效评估和奖励机制

我们对每项投资进行自下而上的内涵价值测试,并依据经风险调整后的资金成本来衡量预期投资回报。经风险调整后的资金成本根据资本资产定价模型计算。对于在风险较高的领域或市场投资,资金成本相应较高。我们通过计算经风险调整后的资金成本将风险常态化,从而判断不同投资机会之间的相对吸引力。

我们还加入了当前每吨二氧化碳当量(tCO2e)42美元的内部碳价格,以评估可能的气候变化影响并指导投资决策。

自2021年4月1日起,我们在非上市投资的资金成本中加入了非流动性风险溢价,对早期投资的资金成本加入了初创风险投资溢价。

作为资产所有者和投资者,我们保持充分的灵活度,当契机或挑战出现时重塑和平衡投资组合。淡马锡主要进行股权投资,根据风险回报偏好,结合对市场的展望和价值测试结果进行投资或脱售。我们可以选择大规模集中投资或持有现金,且不会对资产类别、所在国家和行业设定限制。我们通过管理流动性和资产负债表,保持韧性与灵活性。

作为积极活跃的股东,无论所投资的是初创企业或是成熟企业,我们为不同发展周期的投资组合公司增加或创造价值。我们主动推行良好的公司治理,寄望于投资组合公司的董事会制定与推动战略、监督管理层,由其管理层来运营公司。

淡马锡去年设立了投资组合发展部,通过合作、创新、制定成长策略和探寻转型选项,与主要投资组合公司通力协作,为资产增值。

我们的投资组合包括上市和非上市资产,而后者包括基金投资。丰树产业私人有限公司、PSA国际港务集团和新加坡能源有限公司等新加坡企业,占非上市投资组合的三分之一以上。对私募股权和信贷基金的投资帮助我们加深了对新市场或专业细分领域的理解,并提供了共同投资机会,占了我们非上市投资组合的四分之一以上。蚂蚁金服、Ceva Santé Animale、Global Healthcare Exchange、GoTo Group、托普索公司、施耐德电气印度公司、Verily Life Sciences、屈臣氏和无锡药明康德新药开发股份有限公司等其他非上市企业,占非上市投资组合约四分之一的比例。

 

对一些初创企业所进行的投资让我们对科技与商业模式创新有了更多见解,能够更好地评估未来机遇和细分市场,洞悉对更大范围的投资组合所产生的潜在影响,同时可能收获经风险调整后的丰厚回报。截至3月31日,初创企业投资在我们非上市投资组合中的比例不到10%。

非上市投资组合为淡马锡带来稳定的股息和收益,在过去10年里,非上市投资组合年平均的回报率超过10%。

我们有时可能通过买卖衍生品来体现增持或减持某些投资的意向,或管理投资组合。当衍生品的收益或损失与相应的投资损失与收益相匹配时,我们也会通过衍生品交易对冲外汇,和/或抵御潜在的投资损失。