Close

Our Approach

Our Approach

Our not-for-profit gifts to Temasek Trust enable Temasek Foundation and other non-profit entities to connect people, uplift communities, protect our planet and advance capabilities, in Singapore, Asia and beyond.

We believe in seeding social capital to transform lives for a more inclusive and resilient world, so every generation prospers. Since 2003, we have been setting aside a portion of our net positive returns above our risk-adjusted cost of capital for community gifts.

These are approved by the Temasek Board before being gifted to Temasek Trust, and then disbursed to and administered by our non-profit ecosystem consisting of Temasek Foundation (TF), Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory, Stewardship Asia Centre, and Mandai Nature. The gifts include 24 programme endowments which have impacted about 2 million lives across Singapore and Asia.

Cognisant that the pandemic has brought about unprecedented hardship and exacerbated inequalities, we are committed to doing our part to uplift communities where we can.

Over the past year, we continued to focus our attention on supporting COVID-19 initiatives in five key areas: testing & diagnosis, containment & contact tracing, care & treatment, protection & prevention, and enablement.

We worked in partnership with governments, our portfolio companies, and many others to do right and do good, leveraging our resources and collective strengths.

Our efforts have evolved with the pandemic. While we had tried to bridge supply gaps in the early days, we are focusing now on helping our communities cope with the highly transmissible Omicron variant and living with COVID-19 as an endemic disease.

In Singapore, we worked with TF to distribute reusable and antimicrobial AIR+ masks that have N95-grade filtration and Particle Filtration Efficiency of more than 95%. Since the start of the pandemic, we have distributed over 153 million disposable and reusable masks to residents in Singapore. The masks were collected from convenient locations all over the island such as vending machines, shopping malls, supermarkets, bus interchanges, community centres, Residents’ Committee centres and recreation centres for migrant workers as well as the Singapore University of Technology and Design, and Temasek Shophouse. TF also distributed more than 1 million oximeters and over 900,000 bottles of povidone-iodine mouth gargle to residents, targeting more vulnerable groups.

To support the treatment of vulnerable seniors with respiratory issues, TF worked with the Agency for Integrated Care to distribute around 680 medical-grade oxygen concentrators to around 100 community health providers, such as nursing homes, hospices, community hospitals and Public Health Preparedness Clinics. This helped to alleviate the overall burden on Singapore’s healthcare system.

Similarly, we encouraged the public to get vaccinated by making the vaccines available to more people and raising awareness about the benefits of getting vaccinated. Over 900 Pioneer Generation, Merdeka Generation and Community Health Assist Scheme cardholders, have enrolled to complete their COVID-19 vaccination with the Sinopharm vaccine donated by TF. All of them have received at least one dose to date. Since the start of the pandemic, we have regularly placed advertisements in media channels in Singapore to provide updated and evidence-based information on vaccinations.

To reduce the strain on Singapore’s healthcare system due to the surge in cases from the Omicron variant, we worked with our partners The Ascott Limited, Constellar, Raffles Medical Group, and Surbana Jurong, to transform four Singapore EXPO exhibition venue halls to serve as COVID-19 Treatment Facilities (CTF). The CTFs, which housed more than 2,500 beds and were operational from August 2021 to February 2022, admitted COVID-19 patients who did not require acute care in hospitals. Our portfolio company Sheares Healthcare also established another CTF at Sengkang General Hospital in October last year.

We worked with partners in the construction, marine and process sectors on a pilot programme to bring migrant workers to Singapore, while minimising the number of imported cases. The initiative, which was launched in July 2021, saw migrant workers being quarantined at dedicated facilities in their home countries and going through a series of PCR, ART and serology tests before arriving in Singapore where they were further quarantined and tested.

Beyond Singapore, we supported the global COVID-19 response with donations of essential supplies, including masks, personal protective equipment, PCR test kits and medical equipment.

Last year, TF donated more than 7.6 million reusable adult and children’s masks to Johor, Malaysia. Facilitated by the Indonesia Embassy in Singapore, the Foundation partnered the Indonesian business community in Singapore and Singapore businesses to donate more than 12,500 oxygen concentrators to Indonesia. TF also worked with the Philippine Embassy in Singapore and other partners to donate dialysis machines and masks to the Philippines. In recognition of TF's efforts during the pandemic, TF has been awarded the 2021 Presidential “Kaanib ng Bayan Award” by the Office of the President of the Philippines.

To date, TF has provided COVID-related supplies to some 40 countries in and around the region, as well as further afield in Latin America and the Middle East. Donations included masks, personal protective equipment, PCR test kits and medical equipment. These included more than 9,500 kits which enabled over 1.6 million PCR diagnostic tests, and more than 20 PCR testing machines to expand lab test capacity and capability. We contributed over 36,000 units of oxygen support and ICU-grade ventilation equipment, over 40 million surgical, N95, KN95 and FFP2 masks for hospital and frontline workers, and some 26 million reusable masks to the community.

Financial Oversight and Governance

Established by Temasek Holdings in 2007, Temasek Trust (TT) is a steward of philanthropic assets, gifts and endowments from Temasek. It strives to provide sustainable funding for the long term well-being of our communities. It is a Company Limited by Guarantee, set up to receive funding from Temasek and other donors. TT provides governance and financial oversight of non-profit endowments and other community gifts from Temasek.

TT distributes a steady and sustainable baseline 4% of endowment principal annually. This provides a predictable multi-year funding source for our non-profit ecosystem to carry out their programmes to connect people, uplift communities, protect our planet and advance capabilities. Where the situation requires, TT may distribute above 4% of the endowment principal, subject to approval by TT Board.

Beyond financial management, TT also aims to pioneer and enable new pathways for philanthropy in Asia.

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, TT’s oscar@sg fund supported ground-up initiatives that serve the needs of the vulnerable communities in Singapore affected by the crisis. Such self-help initiatives go a long way to foster ownership, sustainability, care, assurance and resilience, for a more inclusive society with a spirit of active citizenry. The fund has enabled more than 300 projects to-date and touched more than 1 million lives.

TT manages the Temasek Shophouse as a social impact hub to encourage, enhance, and elevate initiatives for the common good. For the past two years, the Shophouse has hosted more than 90 events, including workshops and exhibitions on meaningful subject matters such as sustainability and mental health.

TT’s strategic collaboration with UNDP SDG Impact, an initiative by the United Nations Development Programme that aims to accelerate investments toward achieving the UN Sustainable Development Goals by 2030, announced in May 2021, enables the building of knowledge assets and tools which cater to the needs of investors and businesses in Asia. An investor map for Indonesia, which highlights impact business models and investment opportunity areas in Indonesia, was launched in March 2022. TT remains steadfast in its commitment towards sustainability and impact investing in Asia.

Temasek Foundation (TF)

TF, a Company Limited by Guarantee, supports diverse programmes to strengthen social resilience, foster international exchange and regional capabilities, advance science, and protect the planet.

Strengthening Social Resilience and Uplifting Lives

Both in and out of Singapore, Temasek Foundation works to catalyse a more resilient, harmonious and inclusive society.

Its outcome-focused programmes help to enhance our social fabric by enabling individuals, strengthening families and uplifting communities, with a special focus on at-risk families and their children.

The Foundation pilots programmes and research, and funds programmes that promote culture, heritage and values to benefit current and future generations.

Fostering International Exchange and Enhancing Regional Capabilities

TF connects people to promote dialogues, mutual understanding and a more inclusive worldview.

Such programmes also advance capability and capacity, in areas such as healthcare, education, public administration, urban management, and disaster response. They bring together participants particularly from the region, and the wider Asian community, to share ground experiences and best practices, and to support networks of cooperation.

Advancing Science and Nature for a Sustainable World

TF champions sustainability and supports translational research to help innovators produce goods and services that will benefit the community.

It supports solution-oriented development programmes that contribute to improving liveability through various global grant calls.

These programmes strengthen research capabilities, promote science education, and encourage cross-functional collaboration among investors, businesses, institutions, agencies and academia in areas such as climate change and healthcare.

Mandai Nature

Temasek and Mandai Park Holdings established Mandai Nature to advance efforts to prevent species extinction, protect habitats and benefit people in Asia.

Mandai Nature aims for nature and people to thrive in healthy ecosystems and vibrant communities, both in Singapore and Asia. It will address issues of wildlife trade and fragmentation of habitats, protect and restore forests, mangroves and peatlands, and develop sustainable economic opportunities for local communities through tourism and agriculture.

Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory (TLL)

TLL was established in 2002 as a research institute to harness the power of life sciences to improve lives. With close to 200 researchers, TLL undertakes biomolecular science research and applications to benefit people in Asia and beyond.

Top

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date with our latest news, insights and stories

Select a type of content
    Please select Stories you are interested in.
    Please give us your consent.
    Please confirm that you are not a robot.

Close

我们的回馈方式

美好世界的承诺

我们投入淡马锡信托基金会的非营利捐赠基金让淡马锡基金会和其他非营利机构,在新加坡、亚洲及其他地区搭建人脉桥梁、帮扶社群、保护地球和增强能力。

我们相信,通过投入社会资本,点亮生命,让大家拥有更包容、更具韧性的世界,延延世代,欣欣向荣。自2003年起,淡马锡便把高于经风险调整后资金成本的部分净回报,用来造福社群。

这些捐赠基金经淡马锡董事会批准后,捐赠予淡马锡信托基金会,由其发放给淡马锡非营利生态系统去管理,包括淡马锡基金会、淡马锡生命科学实验室、亚洲尽责治理研究院及万礼自然生态基金会。这些捐赠基金包括24个项目捐赠基金,已惠及新加坡和亚洲约200万人。

冠病疫情带来了前所未有的冲击,加剧了不平等现象。我们竭尽所能,帮扶社群。

过去一年,我们继续重点支援五大关键领域的抗疫行动:检测与诊断技术、遏制疫情蔓延与接触追踪、护理与治疗方案、防护与保障举措,以及物资驰援。

我们与政府、投资组合公司及其他群体合作,借助我们的资源和集体优势,践行使命,造福世代。

我们的应对举措随着疫情发展不断演进。早期,我们致力于填补对接防疫物资供应的缺口,如今则集中力量帮助社群应对传播力更强的奥密克戎变异毒株,过渡到将冠病作为地方性流行病的阶段。

在新加坡,我们与淡马锡基金会合作,派发具备N95防护级别的AIR+可重复使用抗菌口罩,其颗粒过滤效率超过95%。自疫情暴发以来,我们已向新加坡居民派发超过1.53亿只一次性和可重复使用口罩。口罩派发地点遍布全岛,包括自动发放机、购物商场、超市、巴士转换站、民众俱乐部和联络所、居民委员会中心、客工休闲中心,以及新加坡科技设计大学和“淡马锡店屋(Temasek Shophouse)”,方便民众领取。淡马锡基金会也针对更易感染的群体,向居民派发超过100万个血氧仪和90万瓶以上含聚维酮碘的漱口液。

淡马锡基金会与护联中心合作,向包括疗养院、临终关怀病院、社区医院和公共卫生防范诊所在内的约100家社区医疗机构派发了约680台医疗级别制氧机,辅助治疗患有呼吸道疾病、易受感染的年长者。此举帮助减轻新加坡医疗体系的整体压力。

同时,我们鼓励公众接种疫苗,提供疫苗让更多的人能接种,同时加强公众对接种疫苗好处的认识。超过900名建国一代、立国一代和持有社保援助计划卡的民众,已登记接种由淡马锡基金会捐赠的中国国药集团冠病疫苗,迄今都接种了至少一剂疫苗。自疫情暴发以来,我们定期通过新加坡的多个媒体渠道刊登公益广告,提供最新和切实有据的疫苗接种信息。

奥密克戎变异毒株的传播导致病例激增,我们与合作伙伴雅诗阁有限公司、星域展览有限公司、莱佛士医疗集团和盛裕控股集团携手合作,将新加坡博览中心的四个展厅改造成冠病治疗设施,以减轻新加坡医疗体系的压力。这些设施备有超过2,500张床位,于2021年8月至2022年2月间投入使用,照料无需在医院接受急症护理的患者。我们的投资组合公司薛尔思医疗集团也于去年10月在盛港综合医院设立了另一个冠病治疗设施。

我们与建筑、海事和加工业的合作伙伴联合开展试点计划,在尽可能减少输入病例的情况下让客工入境新加坡。该计划于2021年7月启动,客工入境新加坡之前,先在所属国的专用设施进行隔离并接受聚合酶链式反应检测(PCR)、抗原快速检测(ART)及血清检测等一系列检测,抵达新加坡后再进行一轮的隔离和检测。

在新加坡以外,我们向世界各地捐赠口罩、个人防护装备、PCR检测试剂盒及医疗设备等基本物资,驰援国际抗疫。

去年,淡马锡基金会向马来西亚柔佛州捐赠了760万只可重复使用的成人和儿童口罩。在印度尼西亚驻新加坡大使馆的安排下,基金会联同在新加坡的印度尼西亚商业社群和新加坡企业,向印度尼西亚捐赠超过12,500台制氧机。淡马锡基金会也与菲律宾驻新加坡大使馆及其他合作伙伴,共同向菲律宾捐赠透析机和口罩。菲律宾总统办公室向淡马锡基金会颁发了2021总统“Kaanib ng Bayan奖”,表彰基金会在疫情期间的努力。

迄今,淡马锡基金会已向约40个国家提供了防疫物资,涵盖本区域及周边区域国家、远至拉丁美洲和中东地区。驰援物资包括口罩、个人防护装备、PCR检测试剂盒及医疗设备。这当中的9,500多个试剂盒可用来进行超过160万次PCR检测,所提供的超过20台PCR检测机则可加强实验室检测能力和检测量。我们还向医护人员和一线工作人员捐赠超过36,000台供氧设备和重症监护室级别的呼吸机、4,000多万只医用外科、N95、KN95和FFP2口罩,向社群发放约2,600万只可重复使用口罩。

财务监督与治理

淡马锡信托基金会由淡马锡控股于2007年成立,是淡马锡公益捐赠资产与基金的管护者,旨在提供可持续的资金,以保障社群的长期福祉。基金会是按担保有限公司设立,接受来自淡马锡及其他捐赠方的资金。淡马锡信托基金会为淡马锡投入的非营利公益捐赠基金及其他社群捐赠基金提供治理与财务监督。

淡马锡信托基金会每年发放捐赠本金的4%,以此为稳定且可持续的基准线。这为我们的非营利生态系统提供可预见的多年期资金来源以开展各项计划,搭建人脉桥梁、帮扶社群、保护地球和增强能力。淡马锡信托基金会可视情况所需,在得到淡马锡信托基金会董事会批准后,发放超过捐赠本金4%以上的部分。

除财务管理外,淡马锡信托基金会也致力为亚洲公益事业开辟新路径。

在冠病疫情期间,淡马锡信托基金会的oscar@sg基金支持民间善举,以满足受疫情影响的新加坡弱势社群需求。这些自助倡议与oscar@sg的“有担当、可持续、给关爱、强保障和持坚韧”的价值观一脉相承,打造具有积极公民意识的包容社会。该基金会至今已资助300多个援助项目,惠及超过100万人。

由淡马锡信托基金会管理的“淡马锡店屋”,作为发挥社会影响力的中心,致力于鼓励、提升、推动向善向好的倡议。过去两年,超过90场活动在“淡马锡店屋”举办,包括可持续发展和心理健康等富有意义的相关主题工作坊与展览。

淡马锡信托基金会与联合国开发计划署的可持续发展目标影响力计划(SDG Impact)于2021年5月宣布进行战略合作。SDG Impact倡议旨在加速投资,助力实现联合国2030可持续发展目标。这一战略合作关系则通过构筑知识资产和指导工具,满足亚洲投资者和企业的需求。2022年3月,印度尼西亚投资者路线图发布,重点介绍在印尼的影响力业务模式和富有投资机会的领域。淡马锡信托基金会继续致力于可持续发展,并推进在亚洲的影响力投资。

淡马锡基金会

作为一家担保有限公司,淡马锡基金会资助广泛多元的项目,旨在增强社会韧性、促进国际交流、提升区域能力、推动科学发展和保护地球。

增强社会韧性 帮扶生命

无论在新加坡国内外,淡马锡基金会协助建设更具韧性、更和谐、更包容的社会。

这些项目以成果为导向,旨在帮助个人积极和充实地生活,帮助家庭和社群发展,特别是关注弱势家庭及他们的子女,从而巩固社会凝聚力。

淡马锡基金会开展试点和研究项目,造福世代,资助发扬文化、关注历史遗产和推广价值观的项目,建立更包容的社会。

促进国际交流 提升区域能力

淡马锡基金会搭建人脉桥梁,推动合作对话,促进相互了解,并建立更包容的世界观。

这些项目也提升了医疗保健、教育、公共行政、城市管理及灾害应对等领域的能力,让区域内乃至亚洲更广大社群的参与者共聚一堂,分享心得及最佳实践经验,搭建合作人脉。

推动科学发展 保护地球 塑造可持续发展的世界

淡马锡基金会倡导可持续发展,支持转化研究,帮助创新者提供造福社群的产品和服务。

基金会为以解决方案为导向的发展项目提供支持,通过在全球范围争取资金,提升宜居水平。

这些项目提升研究能力、推广科学教育,并促进投资者、企业、机构、部门和学术界在气候变化和医疗保健等领域的跨界合作。

万礼自然生态基金会

淡马锡与万礼生态园控股公司(Mandai Park Holdings)成立了万礼自然生态基金会,致力于推进亚洲在防止物种灭绝和保护生物栖息地等方面的努力,造福于民。

万礼自然生态基金会致力于建立健康生态系统和充满活力的社群,在新加坡和亚洲实现人类与大自然的共生共荣。基金会将探讨野生动物交易和生物栖息地破坏,森林、红树林和泥炭地的保护与修复等问题,并通过旅游业和农业为当地社群开拓可持续发展的经济机遇。

淡马锡生命科学实验室

淡马锡生命科学实验室成立于2002年,旨在利用生命科学改善生活。实验室拥有近200名研究人员,从事生物分子科学研究与应用,旨在造福亚洲及更广泛地区的民众。

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date with our latest news, insights and stories

Select a type of content
    Please select Stories you are interested in.
    Please give us your consent.
    Please confirm that you are not a robot.