Close

The Roots of Temasek

We are an active investor, a forward looking institution, and a trusted steward – investing to create value for generations to come.

Said to have been derived from the Malay word tasik, which means “lake” or “sea”, references to Temasek have been made in a plethora of literature: Tumasik, a vassal of the Majapahit empire in a 1365 Javanese court poem; 淡马锡, or Tan-Ma-Si, as Wang Dayuan described in a 1349 account of his travels; and Sach-ma-tich, as Vietnamese records noted the arrival of Malay envoys in 1330.

Temasek was birthed as a pragmatic experiment of 20th century Singapore, as this modern city-state was defining its place in the world, after a tumultuous beginning. Founded in 1974, Temasek  took over an eclectic collection of some 35 companies from the Singapore Minister for Finance1. Temasek today has grown and branched across the globe, committed to its role as a generational investor, doing things today always with tomorrow in mind.

The Founding of Temasek

Three years after an unexpected independence in 1965, Britain announced it would accelerate the withdrawal of their armed forces from Singapore, to complete by 1971. This would dent Singapore’s economy, with a commensurate impact on the workforce, as a fifth of economic activity was attributed to the British forces and its industries.

Retraining soon followed apace to prepare the working population for the new jobs being created through massive industrialisation and investment promotion. British naval military dockyards and electronic workshops were converted and transformed into commercial start-ups and civilian businesses. The amalgamation of these efforts saw Singapore deliver a robust 12% economic growth in 1971, averting a potential economic disaster.

In 1972, Dr Goh Keng Swee, the first Finance Minister of Singapore (1959-1965, 1967-1970), who was then Minister for Defence, said:

“One of the tragic illusions that many countries of the Third World entertain is the notion that politicians and civil servants can successfully perform entrepreneurial functions. It is curious that, in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary, the belief persists.”

Having converted the military and naval bases left behind by the British forces to commercial use, and then finding itself the owner of a variety of these new businesses, the Government felt that it was necessary to separate governance from business management. This stemmed from the principle that it was not the business of government to operate the businesses it owned. At Temasek’s 40th anniversary in 2014, then President of Singapore, Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam, noted in his address:

“It was clearly not the business of government to run such enterprises, and so Temasek was set up to take over and own some 35 companies and miscellaneous investments”.

It was this principle that led to the establishment of Temasek to own and manage the assets previously held by the Singapore Government. The objective of a commercial investment company, owning and managing these assets, was to allow the government to focus on its core role of policymaking and regulations. Further, Temasek was designated a Fifth Schedule Entity2 with the constitutional responsibility to safeguard its past reserves, underscoring its role as a steward. The creation of Temasek therefore served to separate the regulatory and policymaking function of the Government from its role as a shareholder of commercial entities.  

Defining Temasek

Defining Temasek by comparing to others is not easy; there are no others that have the same breadth of Temasek’s activities, even today.

While the Government is the sole equity shareholder of Temasek, Temasek owns its assets outright as a commercial investment company, governed by the Singapore Companies Act, rather than being a fund manager for the Government.

The objective behind Temasek’s establishment was to distance the Government, with its role as policymaker, from its role as shareholder.

S R Nathan
Former President of Singapore (1999-2011)
Speech at Temasek’s 30th Anniversary Dinner, 2 November 2004

Temasek declares dividends annually to its shareholder. Despite being an exempt private company3, Temasek has voluntarily published its annual financial and performance report, the Temasek Review, since 2004. And Temasek pays commercial taxes, just like any other company, in Singapore and anywhere else in the world they fall due.

As a commercial company, Temasek is governed by an independent board, the majority of whom are non-executive and independent private sector business leaders.  

The evolution of Temasek towards full responsibility for the appointment and renewal of Board and management personnel was articulated by former Temasek Chairman Mr S Dhanabalan (Chairman of Temasek Holdings, 1996-2013), at Temasek’s 39th anniversary dinner, where he shared:

“Entrusting of the board and management to conduct business and to plan and execute succession without political interference makes us unique in the community of state-owned enterprises.”

Speaking at Temasek’s 40th anniversary dinner a year later, then President of Singapore, Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam, further remarked that it was this clear distinction of role that allowed Singapore firms to be “free of political patronage and compete on level playing field”.

The relationship between Temasek and its sole shareholder, the Minister for Finance, is similar to the relationship between Temasek and its portfolio companies. Neither the President nor the Government is involved in Temasek’s investment or other business and corporate decisions, except in relation to the President’s role in the protection of Temasek’s reserves. Similarly, Temasek does not direct the business decisions and operations of its portfolio companies. Instead, Temasek expects the boards and management of these companies to take responsibility and accountability for their actions and activities. For instance, Singapore Airlines (SIA) makes independent decisions on the selection of its aircraft and routes based on commercial considerations, without any direction from Temasek. As former Temasek Chairman Mr S Dhanabalan shared back in 2010, “When Singtel wants to buy the second largest telecoms company, they did not consult Temasek. When SIA bought billions of dollars of planes, we only read about this in the newspaper.”

Over the years, successive Finance Ministers, from Mr Hon Sui Sen (Finance Minister 1970-1983) to current Finance Minister Mr Heng Swee Keat, have also publicly reaffirmed that Temasek is expected to be run with commercial discipline. During an interview at the St Gallen Symposium in 2019, Mr Heng Swee Keat expressed that, as Finance Minister, he had never interfered with the investment decisions of Temasek and GIC. He added that according to the Constitution, the Finance Minister is responsible to Parliament for the performance of these firms, and he in turn holds these firms accountable.

This same perspective is shared in Mr Heng’s responses to various parliamentary questions. For example, in a written response to a parliamentary question in 2016, Mr Heng shared:

“The individual investments of GIC and Temasek are the responsibility of their respective management teams, while the Government monitors the performance of their overall portfolio. GIC and Temasek operate on a purely commercial basis in order to maximise long term risk-adjusted returns, and the individual investment decisions are fully independent of any Government interference or influence. This is an important governance principle that we seek to maintain.”

In his address at Temasek’s 39th anniversary dinner in 2013, then Deputy Prime Minister of Singapore and Minister for Finance, Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, explained:

“On its part, the Government’s approach is to ensure that people of sound character and judgment are appointed to the [Temasek] Board, to guide Temasek’s management and its strategies… This alignment in our thinking on the governance of Temasek remains an important advantage for the future. The Government holds the Board accountable for Temasek’s performance over time. Temasek has the flexibility to seize opportunities when they arise, and to take calculated risks aimed at growing the value of its portfolio over the long term.”

We are careful not to have any role or influence in Temasek’s investment decisions. That has been the right approach for Temasek, which makes commercial assessments without having to second guess whether the Government would agree to its decisions.

Tharman Shanmugaratnam
Former Deputy Prime Minister of Singapore (2011-2019)
Former Finance Minister (2007-2015)
Speech at Temasek’s 39th Anniversary Dinner, 6 August 2013

Over the years, Temasek has set its priorities with oversight from the Temasek Board, and independent of government direction. Its portfolio was shaped, and reshaped, alongside the risks and opportunities that present from time to time, and the longer term trends that were developing globally.

Our shareholder does not direct our investment, divestment or other business decisions. That freedom from shareholder or political interference is something we guard, but we don’t take for granted.

Lim Boon Heng
Chairman, Temasek
Speech at the 4th Annual Sovereign Wealth Fund Conference, 5 December 2013

Opportunities delivering good returns were sought, expanding Temasek’s presence from Singapore into Asia, Europe and the US. The rigour of commercial discipline was applied to those investments that were not performing; some were closed, others were sold as part of a wider industry consolidation.

Temasek as a generational investor

Beyond its role as an active investor, Temasek is a forward looking institution, and a trusted steward. Temasek invests for a better, smarter and more sustainable world, focused on transforming economies, growing middle income populations, deepening comparative advantages and emerging champions.

As Temasek invests for the long term, sustainability is at its core. Environmental, Social and Governance considerations are incorporated into investment decision-making and management, and the firm has announced ambitious carbon reduction targets to align the performance of its portfolio to wider measures to address climate change. Temasek achieved carbon neutrality in 2020, with further goals of portfolio net carbon emissions being brought down to 50% of 2010 levels by 2030, and eventually to net zero by 2050. To this end, Temasek is an official supporter of the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, to underscore the importance of understanding climate risks and opportunities.

Temasek seeks to foster partnerships and seed endowments to uplift lives, build resilience, and foster best practices in sustainability and governance by enabling people and communities, to create a better tomorrow for current and future generations. Temasek Trust was established in 2007, to oversee the financial management and distribution of endowments and gifts from Temasek, via the non-profit philanthropic Temasek Foundation. This structure is important, to separate the responsibility for the financial oversight of gifts from Temasek and others, from the delivery and execution of programmes, as both functions require different skillsets.

We invest not just for the next three or 10 years and not even for the present generation. Instead, we constantly challenge ourselves to shape and re-shape our portfolio to deliver for future generations.

Ho Ching
CEO, Temasek Holdings
Luncheon Remarks at Stewardship Asia 2018 Roundtable, 4 June 2018

Temasek was born with tomorrow clearly in the minds of its founding fathers. The core reasoning was delivering a better world through its investments, safeguarding its reputation and ethos of good governance, and building upon the inheritance for future generations. These principles remain as relevant today as they did in the early 1970s, and are manifested in Temasek’s Charter, stating its three core functions: an active investor and shareholder; a forward looking institution; and a trusted steward.

As a constant reminder of its mission, these Charter roles keep Temasek rooted to its ethos of doing well, doing right, and doing good.

 

______________________


1 Under the Singapore Minister for Finance (Incorporation) Act (Chapter 183), the Minister for Finance is a body corporate.

2 Fifth Schedule entities under the Singapore Constitution include GIC Private Limited, which manages the reserves of the Singapore Government; the CPF Board; the Monetary Authority of Singapore; Housing and Development Board; and Jurong Town Corporation.

3 An Exempt Private Company (EPC) is one which has a maximum of 20 shareholders, where none of the shareholders can be corporations. An EPC can also be a company which is wholly owned by the Government, in which the Minister has gazetted as being an EPC.

Top

Close

淡马锡的根基

淡马锡是积极活跃的投资者、着眼未来的机构以及备受信赖的资产管护者——为未来世代创造价值。

淡马锡一词,在大量文献中提到,据说源自马来语tasik,意为“湖泊 ”或 “海”:在1365年的爪哇宫廷诗中提到的Tumasik指的是满者伯夷王国的附属国;汪大渊在1349年的航海行记中,描述了淡马锡或称之为“Tan-Ma-Si”;越南关于1330年马来史节到访的记录中,写到了 “Sach-ma-tich”。

在20世纪新加坡进行的务实尝试中,淡马锡诞生了,当时这个现代城市国家经历了颠簸崎岖的开端,正在定义自己在世界上的位置。1974年,淡马锡应运而生,从新加坡财政部长1手中接管了由35家企业组成的投资组合。时至今日,淡马锡已不断成长,发展至世界多地,践行跨世代投资者的使命,立足当下,着眼未来。

淡马锡的成立

1965年,新加坡出乎意外地实现了独立,三年后,英国宣布加速撤离驻扎新加坡的武装部队,并在1971年全部完成。这在当时会严重影响新加坡经济,劳动力将受到相应冲击,因为当时五分之一的经济活动来自英国军队及其产业。

为此,新加坡进行大规模工业化,吸引投资,紧锣密鼓地帮助劳动力队伍接受再培训,为新的岗位做好准备。英国海军的军用船坞和电子车间被改造和转型为商业化的初创企业和民用企业。通过这些努力,新加坡经济在1971年实现了12%的强劲增长,转危为安。

1972年,新加坡第一任财政部长(1959至1965年及1967至1970年)、时任国防部长吴庆瑞博士说道:

“许多第三世界国家都抱有一种悲剧性的幻想,认为政治家和公务员可以成功地履行企业职能。奇怪的是,尽管有大量证据说明情况恰恰相反,但这种想法依然存在。”

将英军留下的军用和海军基地转为商业用途后,政府发现自己变成了这些新兴企业的所有者,感到有必要将治理与企业管理分开。这源自一个原则,即运营政府拥有的企业并不是政府的职责。时任新加坡总统陈庆炎博士在2014年淡马锡40周年庆典致辞中指出:

“很明显,经营这些公司并不是政府的职责,因此政府成立了淡马锡以接管这些企业,其中包括35家公司和各类小额投资。”

基于这一原则,淡马锡成立了,拥有并接管之前由新加坡政府持有的资产。由商业投资公司来拥有和接管这些资产,让政府能专注于制定政策和监管的核心职责。此外,淡马锡被指定为《新加坡宪法》2第五附表机构之一,其宪法责任是保护公司过去所累积的储备金,并履行它作为资产管护者的角色。淡马锡的创立,让政府把作为商业实体股东的角色从监管和制定政策的职能中分了出来。

淡马锡的定义

通过与其他公司作比较来定义淡马锡不是易事,很少有企业与淡马锡拥有同样的广度,即便在今天也是如此。

虽然政府是淡马锡的唯一股东,但作为受《新加坡公司法》管辖的商业投资公司,淡马锡拥有资产,而不是政府的资金代管者。

淡马锡成立的初衷是让作为政策制定者的政府与作为股东的角色保持距离。

——新加坡前总统纳丹(1999至2011年)于2004年11月2日在淡马锡30周年晚宴上的发言

淡马锡每年都会向股东派发股息。尽管淡马锡是一家享有豁免权的私人公司3,但自2004年起,淡马锡自愿发布年度财务和业绩报告《淡马锡年度报告》。和其他公司一样,淡马锡向新加坡和各运营所在地缴纳商业税费。

作为一家商业公司,淡马锡有着独立的董事会,多数董事是非执行独立董事,为来自私营部门的商界领袖。

淡马锡前主席丹那巴南先生(1996至2013年担任淡马锡控股主席)在淡马锡39周年庆典晚宴上,分享了淡马锡肩负董事会和管理层人员任命及更新全面责任的演进过程:

“在不受政治干预的情况下,委托董事会和管理层发展业务、进行规划和执行继任计划,这在国有企业界是独一无二的。”

一年后,时任新加坡总统陈庆炎博士在淡马锡40周年晚宴上发言时进一步谈到,正是这种明确的职责区分,使新加坡企业能够 “不受政治庇护,公平竞争”。

淡马锡与其唯一的股东财政部长之间的关系,类似于淡马锡与其投资组合公司之间的关系。除非关系到保护淡马锡的储备金,不论是新加坡总统或政府都不参与淡马锡的投资或其他商业决策。同样,淡马锡也不参与旗下投资组合公司的商业决策或运营。淡马锡期望这些公司的董事会和管理层对其决策和经营活动负责。例如,新加坡航空公司(Singapore Airlines)是基于商业考量,独立决定机型和航线选择,而不是根据淡马锡的任何指示。正如淡马锡前主席丹那巴南先生在2010年时分享:“当新加坡电信想收购第二大电信公司时,他们并没有问淡马锡的意见。当新航买下数十亿美元的飞机时,我们只是从报纸上知道的。”

多年来,从韩瑞生先生(从1970至1983年担任财政部长)到现任财政部长王瑞杰先生,历任财政部长都公开重申,淡马锡是以期按商业原则来运营的。在2019年圣加仑研讨会上的访时,王瑞杰先生表示,作为财政部长,他从未干预淡马锡和新加坡政府投资公司(GIC)的投资决策。他补充说,根据宪法,财政部长要对这些公司的业绩向国会负责,同时也要对这些公司负责。

从王瑞杰先生对国会提问的回答,也可看到同样的观点。例如,2016年王瑞杰先生对国会提问作出的书面答复中说:

"GIC和淡马锡的每项投资是由其各自的管理团队负责,政府则监管其总体投资组合的业绩表现。GIC和淡马锡以纯商业化的基础运营,以实现风险调整后的长期回报最大化,单个投资决定完全不受政府的任何干预或影响。这是我们力求维护的一项重要治理原则。"

在2013年淡马锡39周年晚宴上,时任新加坡副总理兼财政部长的尚达曼先生在致辞中解释道:

“政府的做法是确保任命品格和判断力稳健全面的人加入 [淡马锡]董事会,为淡马锡的管理及其战略提供指导......这种对治理淡马锡的理念贯彻一致,是未来的重要优势。政府要求董事会对淡马锡的长期业绩负责。淡马锡灵活地把握良机及承担经过计算的风险,旨在实现投资组合长期增值。”

我们谨慎地去避免在淡马锡的投资决策中扮演任何角色或产生任何影响。对淡马锡来说,这一直是正确的做法,让淡马锡在进行商业评估时不必猜测政府是否会同意其决定。

——新加坡前副总理(2011年至2019年)兼前任财政部长(2007年至2015年)尚达曼在2013年8月6日于淡马锡39周年晚宴上的讲话

多年来,淡马锡在其董事会的监督下明确优先事项,并独立于政府的指导。面对不时出现的风险和机遇,淡马锡不断塑造投资组合,把握全球长期发展趋势。

我们的股东并不指导我们的投资、脱售或其他商业决策。这种不受股东或政治干预的自由是我们守护的,但我们不认为这是理所当然的。

——淡马锡董事长林文兴在2013年12月5日于第四届主权财富基金年度会议上的讲话

淡马锡寻找能带来良好回报的机会,从新加坡扩展到亚洲、欧洲和美国。在表现欠佳的投资中,采取严格的商业纪律;有些投资交易完成,另一些则在更广泛行业的整合中进行了脱售。

淡马锡是跨世代投资者

淡马锡不仅是积极活跃的投资者,也是着眼未来的机构及备受信赖的资产管护者。淡马锡投资塑造一个更美好、更智能、更可持续的世界,聚焦于转型中的经济体、不断增长的中产阶级、显著的比较优势和新兴的龙头企业。

淡马锡作为长期投资者,可持续发展是投资核心。环境、社会和治理方面的考量被纳入投资决策和管理中,公司也宣布了宏伟的减碳目标,将投资组合的表现与应对气候变化的广泛措施相结合。淡马锡在2020年实现了碳中和,下一个目标是到2030年将投资组合的净碳排放量降至为2010年排放水平的一半,并到2050年实现净零碳排放。为此,淡马锡公开支持气候相关财务信息披露工作组的建议,强调了解气候风险和机遇的重要性。

淡马锡寻求建立伙伴关系并设立捐赠基金,以帮扶生命与增强韧性,并通过培养人们和社群在可持续发展和治理方面的最佳实践,为今世后代创造更美好的明天。淡马锡信托基金会成立于2007年,通过非营利公益机构淡马锡基金会,来监督淡马锡捐助与馈赠的财务管理及分配。这个架构至关重要,将淡马锡和其他机构馈赠的财务监督责任、项目的交付执行这两种需要不同技能的职能分开。

我们不仅是对未来三年或十年投资,甚至不局限于现在的这一代人。我们不断挑战自己,塑造并重塑投资组合,为未来创造价值。

——淡马锡控股首席执行长何晶在2018年6月4日于2018亚洲尽责治理圆桌论坛午宴上的讲话

淡马锡创立时先辈们就已心系未来。淡马锡的核心理念是通过投资打造更美好的世界,维护公司信誉和良好的治理精神,为未来世代留下馈赠。正如与70年代初一样,这些原则今天仍然适用,体现着淡马锡宪章中所阐述的三大核心职责——积极活跃的投资者与股东、着眼未来的机构、备受信赖的资产管护者。

这些宪章职责时刻提醒着淡马锡的愿景,致力追求卓越,践行使命,造福世代。

______________________


1 依据《新加坡财政部长(成立)法》(第183章),财政部长为法人团体。

2 《新加坡宪法》第五附表所列的法定机构及政府公司包括:新加坡政府投资公司(负责管理新加坡政府的储备金)、中央公积金局、新加坡金融管理局、建屋发展局和裕廊镇管理局。

3 享有豁免权的私人公司拥有至多20名股东且其股权不得由任何公司持有。享有豁免权的私人公司也可以是政府全资拥有的公司,而部长则是享有豁免权的法定人。