Close

How We Invest

How We Invest

Driven by our views of the trends shaping societies, we invest today with tomorrow in mind.

We aim to build a forward looking and resilient portfolio that delivers sustainable returns over the long term. We deploy capital to catalyse solutions that can enable the transition to a low carbon economy, and tap on opportunities to build future growth sectors and leading enterprises through our efforts in innovation. Our investment activities are aligned to four structural trends that shape our long term portfolio construction.

Digitisation and Sustainable Living are megatrends with a pervasive impact across many sectors as well as on the business models of emerging and established businesses. Future of Consumption and Longer Lifespans reflect structural shifts in consumption patterns and growing needs of longevity arising from our population growth and longer expected lifespans. These trends are interconnected, transcend sectors and countries, and continue through economic cycles.

We expect to increasingly align our portfolio with such trends. This includes investing into companies that directly enable and drive these trends, as well as those that harness the potential of the trends for growth. We back innovations and technologies at pre-commercialised stages to be at the leading edge in relevant areas of Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, Cyber and Deep Tech. In addition, we engage closely with our portfolio companies on their efforts in assessing potential disruption risks and identifying transformation opportunities arising from these trends.

We evaluate sustainability-related risks and identify opportunities in investments through our Environmental, Social and Governance framework, which also supports our target to halve the net carbon emissions of our portfolio over 2010 levels by 2030, and our ambition to achieve net zero carbon emissions by 2050.

A safe and supportive working environment, jobs that pay a fair wage, and diverse and inclusive workplaces are foundational to resilient communities, especially as the transition to low carbon and digital economies bring about fundamental changes to businesses and jobs. As economies reposition themselves for growth in new sectors, we encourage companies to help their workers upskill and reskill to stay relevant and employable.

Strong corporate governance, which includes the purpose of a company and the values of its people, helps sustain a committed workforce. The composition of its boards of directors, the rights of shareholders, the interests of stakeholders, and the balance between short term and long term performance measurements are all important to ensuring strong corporate governance and helping to underpin resilient institutions.

Our investment discipline is centred around intrinsic value and our risk-return framework. This framework forms the basis of our investment decisions, capital allocation, performance measurement and incentive system.

For each investment we make, we conduct bottom-up intrinsic value analysis, with expected returns evaluated against a risk-adjusted cost of capital that is derived using the capital asset pricing model. To begin with, each investment’s risk-adjusted cost of capital is based on its industry risk, debt-equity ratio and country risk. Investments in riskier sectors or markets will have higher costs of capital.

We then add an illiquidity risk premium for unlisted investments and a venture risk premium for early stage investments. We use risk-adjusted cost of capital to normalise the risks in order to compare the relative attractiveness among investment opportunities.

We also factor in an internal carbon price of US$50 per tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent (tCO2e), to assess the possible climate transition impact and to further guide our investment decisions. We expect to increase this to US$100 by the end of this decade. This allows us to better evaluate the long term value of our portfolio, adjusted amongst other things, for the confluence of future carbon taxes and levies as well as the potential increase in financial costs arising from the pace of mitigation, adaptation, and transition.

At a portfolio level, we have full discretion as an owner and investor to reshape and rebalance our investment holdings as the situation warrants. From time to time, we may express interest to invest or divest selected positions based on our outlook and risk-return appetite. We may take concentrated positions, remain in cash, and/or use derivatives to hedge currency or protect against potential losses of our underlying investments. Our investments are predominantly in equities. We do not have targets for investing by asset class, country, sector or single name. We manage our liquidity and balance sheet for resilience.

Our portfolio comprises both listed and unlisted assets, including investments in funds. The unlisted portfolio has grown steadily over the years as we invested in attractive opportunities in the private markets and benefitted from the increase in the value of our unlisted assets.

We value our unlisted investments at book value less impairmentMarking them to market will provide about 10% value uplift on our unlisted portfolio as at 31 March 2022.

Over the last decade, our unlisted portfolio generated returns of over 10% per annum, delivering an illiquidity premium. Our unlisted returns include the returns when our unlisted investments are listed or sold, as well as from the strong performance of the underlying companies.

Our unlisted portfolio offers us liquidity in the form of steady dividends from mature companies and distributions from the high quality portfolio of funds we have built up over the years. The funds are well diversified across geographies, sectors and vintages. In addition, we can access liquidity by divesting our unlisted holdings.

Unlisted Singapore companies constitute just over a third of our unlisted portfolio and include mature companies such as Mapletree, PSA and SP Group.

We have expanded and scaled our asset management business which was initially conceived to catalyse Singapore’s asset management ecosystem. It is currently about one fifth of our unlisted portfolio, and includes companies such as Vertex Holdings and Seviora Holdings, which comprises four companies owned by, or affiliated with, Temasek – namely Azalea Investment Management, Fullerton Fund Management, InnoVen Capital, and Seatown Holdings International.

Investments in private equity and credit funds have been instrumental in helping us gain deeper insights into new markets or sub-sectors of specialisation and have provided co-investment opportunities. These funds make up slightly less than one fifth of our unlisted portfolio.

Our investments into other private companies such as Ant Group, Ceva Santé Animale, Global Healthcare Exchange, Schneider Electric India Private Limited, Topsoe, Verily Life Sciences, A.S. Watson and WuXi AppTec, make up about a quarter of our unlisted portfolio. Some of these private companies are early stage companies. Through these investments, we gain insights into innovation in technology and business models, which enable us to better assess future opportunities and segments, as well as better understand potential implications for our broader portfolio. Our early stage investments are diversified across geographies and sectors. These early stage companies have the potential to achieve significant growth over time and deliver attractive risk-adjusted returns. Several of these companies have matured from early stage. Early stage companies make up less than 10% of our unlisted portfolio today.

 

As an active and engaged shareholder, we seek to add value to our portfolio companies across all stages of growth, from early stage to mature enterprises. We established the Portfolio Development Group to work together with our major portfolio companies to enhance value through partnerships, innovation, growth strategies and transformational possibilities.

We proactively promote good governance, looking to boards to drive strategy and oversee management, who, in turn, run their respective companies.

Top

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date with our latest news, insights and stories

Select a type of content
    Please select Stories you are interested in.
    Please give us your consent.
    Please confirm that you are not a robot.

Close

投资理念与策略

投资理念与策略

我们把握引领社会发展的趋势,投资当下,放眼未来。

 

我们致力于塑造具有前瞻性和韧性的投资组合,实现长期可持续的回报。我们通过投资来促进形成解决方案,助力向低碳经济转型,不断努力创新,把握机遇,打造未来的增长领域和行业佼佼者。我们的投资活动与塑造长期投资组合的四大结构性趋势相契合。

数字化进程和可持续的生活这两大趋势影响着各行各业的方方面面,也影响着新兴和成熟业务的商业模式。随着人口增长和寿命预期更长,未来新消费和更长的寿命这两大趋势反映了消费模式及人们向往长寿的结构性转变。这些趋势相互关联,贯穿不同行业领域和国家地区,并在不同的经济周期延续。

我们不断调整投资组合,顺应这些趋势,其中包括投资于能直接赋能和推动这些趋势的企业,以及借助趋势发挥潜力而实现增长的企业。在人工智能、区块链、网络和深层科技等相关领域,我们在创新和技术尚未进入商业化阶段时就给予支持,走在这些技术的前沿。此外,我们与投资组合公司密切交流,了解他们如何评估这些趋势所带来的潜在扰动风险并辨别转型机遇。

我们通过环境、社会和治理框架,评估投资所面临的可持续相关风险并识别随之而来的机遇。这一框架支持我们践行愿景,力争到2030年实现投资组合净碳排放量总和减少到2010年排放水平的一半、到2050年实现净零碳排放。

安心并相互扶持的工作环境、薪酬合理的工作、多元化和包容的职场,是社群具备韧性的基础条件,尤其在经济向低碳和数字化转型的过程中,企业和就业会发生根本性的变化,这些基础条件更为重要。随着各经济体重新定位实现增长的新行业,我们鼓励企业帮助员工提升现有技能,掌握新能力,与时俱进,保持就业能力。

健全的公司治理包括公司的使命和员工的价值观,有助于打造恪尽职守的员工团队。董事会的构成、股东的权利、利益相关群体的利益,以及平衡短期和长期绩效评估,都是确保公司健全治理、机构保持韧性的关键。

我们的投资原则以内涵价值和风险回报框架为中心。这是我们投资决策、资金配置、业绩评估和奖励机制的基础。

我们对每项投资进行自下而上的内涵价值分析,并依据经风险调整后的资金成本来衡量预期投资回报。经风险调整后的资金成本根据资本资产定价模型计算得出。每项投资的经风险调整后的资金成本以其行业风险、债务与权益比率和国家风险为基础。对于在风险更高的领域和市场所进行的投资,相应的资金成本会更高。

在这基础上,我们在非上市投资中会加上非流动性风险溢价,并对早期投资加入初创风险投资溢价。我们通过经风险调整后的资金成本将风险标准化地计算进来,从而判断不同投资机会之间的相对吸引力。

我们还加入了每吨二氧化碳当量(tCO2e)50美元的内部碳价,评估可能的气候变化影响,进一步指导投资决策。我们预计到2030年前将把内部碳价调高至100美元。这让我们能在进行其他方面的调整后,更好地评估投资组合的长期价值,应对未来碳税与征税结合的情况,为缓解、适应气候变化以及气候转型过程中潜在增加的财务成本做好准备。

在投资组合层面,作为资产所有者和投资者,淡马锡拥有充分的自主权,根据情况来重塑和平衡投资持仓。基于对市场的展望和风险回报倾向,我们有时可能体现增持或减持某些投资的意向。我们可以选择集中大额投资、持有现金,和/或通过衍生品交易对冲外汇或抵御潜在的投资损失。我们主要进行股权投资。我们不会对资产类别、所在国家、行业或单一企业设定投资目标。我们通过管理流动性和资产负债表,保持韧性。

我们的投资组合涵盖上市和非上市资产,也包括基金投资。我们的非上市投资组合多年来稳步增长,这是因为我们对非公开市场具有吸引力的机会进行投资,并且从非上市资产的增值中获益。

我们以账面值扣除减值,为非上市投资进行估值。若按市值计算,截至2022年3月31日我们的非上市投资组合价值上升约10%。

过去10年中,非上市投资组合年回报率超过10%,实现非流动性溢价。非上市投资组合回报包括了非上市投资上市后或出售所带来的回报,以及标的企业的强劲表现。

非上市投资组合为我们带来的流动性包括成熟企业提供的稳定股息收入,以及多年来积累的高质量基金投资所带来的收益。这些基金广泛分布在不同地域、涉及不同行业、设立于不同时期,非常多元。此外,我们也可通过脱售非上市持仓获得流动资金。

非上市新加坡公司在非上市投资组合的占比略超过三分之一,包括了丰树产业私人有限公司、PSA国际港务集团和新加坡能源集团等成熟企业。

我们将当初为推动新加坡资产管理生态系统发展而建立的资产管理业务,进一步拓展、扩大规模。目前,该领域占到我们非上市投资组合的比例约为五分之一,包括祥峰控股和星伟诺控股等企业。星伟诺控股由四家淡马锡拥有或附属的公司构成,即Azalea投资管理公司、富敦资金管理公司、毅峰资本和狮诚控股国际。

对私募股权和信贷基金的投资加深了我们对新兴市场或专业细分领域的理解,也提供了共同投资机遇。这些基金在我们非上市投资组合的占比略低于五分之一。

我们对其他非上市公司的投资占非上市投资组合约四分之一的比例,包括蚂蚁集团、法国诗华动物保健有限公司(Ceva Santé Animale)、Global Healthcare Exchange、施耐德电气印度公司、托普索公司、Verily Life Sciences、屈臣氏和药明康德,其中有些是初创企业。通过这些投资,我们增进了对科技和商业模式创新的理解,得以更好地评估未来机遇和细分市场,洞悉更大范围的投资组合所可能受到的潜在影响。我们的初创企业投资分布在多个地域和行业,他们具备逐步实现显著发展的潜能,带来经风险调整后的丰厚回报。一些初创企业已日趋成熟。目前,初创企业在我们非上市投资组合中的比例不到10%。

作为积极参与的股东,无论是初创企业或是成熟企业,我们为处于不同发展阶段的投资组合公司增值。我们设立了投资组合发展部,与主要投资组合公司通力协作,通过合作、创新、制定业务增长战略和探寻转型选项来为资产增值。

我们主动推行良好的公司治理,寄望于投资组合公司的董事会制定与推动战略、监督管理层,由其管理层来运营公司。

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date with our latest news, insights and stories

Select a type of content
    Please select Stories you are interested in.
    Please give us your consent.
    Please confirm that you are not a robot.