Close

Focusing on Climate Change

Focusing on Climate Change

As a generational investor, Temasek understands the importance of climate-related financial information in ascertaining the risks associated with climate change to our portfolio. This information guides our efforts to support the transition to a low carbon economy.

We believe that climate-related risks and opportunities can be material for many companies, and we encourage them to make use of the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) when assessing climate-related risks and to include relevant information in their annual disclosures.

As an asset owner, active investor and shareholder committed to delivering sustainable value over the long term, we have publicly expressed our support for the recommendations issued by the TCFD and continuously work to enhance our practices and disclosures as well as those of our portfolio companies.

These are Temasek’s climate-related disclosures in areas of: Governance; Strategy; Risk Management; Metrics & Targets; and Engagement with Our Portfolio & Stakeholders.  

Governance

Climate-related considerations are embedded in Temasek’s governance structures.

Our Board has oversight of financial and systemic risks arising from climate change which can impact the value of our portfolio over the long term and the well-being of our institution, and approves our Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) policy.

Our Strategy, Portfolio and Risk Committee (SPRC) oversees our ESG policy and the integration of ESG considerations, including climate change, in the firm’s strategy, investment, risk and operational management processes.

Our Senior Divestment and Investment Committee (SDIC) takes into account climate-related risks and opportunities as they make decisions to manage and shape our portfolio.

Management periodically updates SPRC and the Board on the climate-related risk exposure of our portfolio and seek their endorsement for our climate-related strategies.

Strategy

As a generational investor, we recognise that there is an urgent need for solutions that support sustainable, longer and more fulfilling lives, while protecting the natural environment. We have been investing in structural trends driven by transformational technologies, sustainable living, longer lifespans, and changing consumption patterns as incomes grow, and lives are uplifted. Going forward, we will increasingly reshape our portfolio in line with these trends.

In line with our longer term portfolio strategy, we are in the process of better understanding the impact of climate change on the economy and individual businesses. In this context, we consider two dimensions: 1) physical risk, both chronic (longer-term effects e.g. on productivity) and acute (extreme weather events); and 2) transition risk, which is the risk of an abrupt devaluation of assets due to regulations that facilitate the shift to a greener economy.

Given the nascent nature of this field and the uncertain path ahead, we adopt a scenario-based approach to ascertain the potential impact of different temperature pathways. In our analysis, we cater for varying response from corporates, governments and households to mitigate climate-related risk. By doing so, this enhances the dynamism of our approach.

We incorporate the climate scenario analysis, alongside other macroeconomic or geopolitical events, within our Temasek Geometric Expected Return Model (T-GEM), which uses a scenario-based approach to simulate our 20-year long term expected returns.

We use a Medium Ambition climate scenario in our baseline, which assumes all countries follow through with the key commitments adopted in the Paris Agreement. More specifically, we apply the Shared Socioeconomic Pathway 2 (SSP2) with RCP (Representative Concentration Pathway) 4.5.

Given the inherent uncertainty of the global trajectory and returns, in T-GEM, we simulate our 20-year expected returns under different alternate scenarios. We model two alternate scenarios: 1) one of Low Ambition, with zero transition impact but high physical costs expected in the longer term; and 2) one of High Ambition, with much higher nearer term transition costs to avert or reduce the longer term physical costs.

The table below summarises the scenarios:

Name

Scenario

Description

Temperature increase
(by 2100)

Low Ambition

SSP2-Baseline

Business as usual (BAU) scenario reflecting only existing climate policies and predicted technology cost trends, with no further policy changes.

4.0°C

Medium Ambition

SSP2-45

Assumes immediate policy action with gradual adaptation and relatively less disruption; full availability of carbon dioxide removal technologies is also assumed.

2.0 - 2.2°C

High Ambition

SSP2-26, FPS

Incorporates likely effects of more ambitious climate policies to limit global warming below 2°C, which involves much greater near-term transition costs and a reliance on negative emissions technologies.

1.7°C

We expect this to be an iterative process as we gain further insights into climate science, regulatory developments and actions from various key stakeholders. Therefore, we seek to evolve and enhance our analysis moving forward, through regular engagement with leading experts in this field.

Risk Management

Identification, assessment and management of climate-related risks form an integral part of overall risk assessment for new investments that we make, and across our portfolio. Over the long term, an understanding of climate-related risks will be embedded in our systems and processes.

The consideration of ESG-related risks, including climate risks, both transition and physical, is part of our overall investment analysis and is taken into account by the SDIC when it makes investment decisions. For example, we include a current internal carbon price of US$42 per tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent (tCO2e ), to assess the possible climate transition impact and to further guide our investment decisions.

Depending on the size or risk significance, these proposals may be escalated to our Executive Committee or Board for a final decision. Functional teams, including the Sustainability team and Risk Management Unit, provide additional specialist perspectives to SDIC and to the Executive Committee or Board.

For the success of our portfolio over the long term, we continuously track and manage climate-related risks to our portfolio, including at the individual asset level. We periodically update our overall ESG / climate-related risk exposure of our portfolio to Senior Management and our Board.

To read more on our Risk Management approach, please see Managing Risk.

 

Metrics & Targets

The climate-related risks and opportunities associated with our business as an investment company can be divided into i) emissions attributable to our operations (Scope 1, 2 and part of Scope 3); and ii) emissions attributable to our portfolio (Part of Scope 3).

 

i) Emissions Attributable to Our Operations

We had set and achieved our target of carbon neutrality for our company two years ago and have maintained this status through the purchase and retirement of carbon credits from the voluntary carbon markets.

Annual Environmental Footprint

1 tCO2e refers to tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent, a standard unit used in greenhouse gas emissions accounting and reporting.
Prior to 2021, recorded Scope 3 indirect emissions only included data from business travel, corporate events and other sources. The emissions from waste generated only includes data from 1 January 2021.

We measure total emissions as well as carbon intensity (carbon emissions / employees) from our operations, and we aim to reduce emissions both in absolute and relative terms. With respect to the risks and opportunities in the context of our operations, electricity consumption across our offices and business travel activities constitute a significant part of our emissions. In the longer term, we are exploring opportunities to source electricity from renewable energy sources. Unavoidable emissions are offset through purchase and retirement of carbon credits from voluntary carbon markets

For a detailed breakdown, please click here to view our emissions table.

 

ii) Emissions Attributable to Our Portfolio

With respect to our portfolio, we have committed to reducing the net carbon emissions to half the 2010 levels by 2030. We also signalled our ambitions for net zero carbon emissions by 2050.

Towards Net Zero

1 tCO2e refers to tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent, a standard unit used in greenhouse gas emissions accounting and reporting.
2 The 2010 baseline (as reflected in FY2011) has been revised to 22 million tCO2e as more refined company-level data sets and sub industry-level proxies have become available. Our 2030 target (to be reported on in FY2031) is 11 million tCO2e, reflecting half of our 2010 baseline.
3 Our total portfolio emissions refer to the absolute greenhouse gas emissions (Scope 1 and Scope 2) associated with our equities portfolio, excluding private equity funds.
4 Negative emissions can comprise compensation (i.e. carbon avoidance) and neutralisation (i.e. carbon removals) acquired through investments and carbon credits.

We use the following portfolio emission metrics in line with international standards, such as the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) for Asset Owners as well as the Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Protocols:

Metric Description

Total Portfolio Emissions

(tCO2e)

The absolute GHG emissions (Scope 1 and Scope 2) associated with our portfolio, expressed in tCO2e


Portfolio Carbon Intensity

(tCO2e/S$M)

The GHG emissions associated with our portfolio normalised by the market value of the portfolio, expressed in tCO2e/S$M

 

Our portfolio emissions encompass Temasek’s direct investments in listed and unlisted equities. Our investment positions in private equity funds, credit and other assets are excluded.

The portfolio emissions reported include Scope 1 and Scope 2 emissions of the underlying companies based on the latest available data sets.

We use a combination of company reported emissions data and modelling approaches to establish our portfolio emissions based on our proportionate shares (i.e. ownership interests) in the assets.

We adopt the following hierarchy in data sources as we establish our portfolio emissions. The hierarchy takes into account data availability and timeliness of reported data, using company reported data where available:

  1. Company reported data: GHG emissions data that is reported by the company, either directly to Temasek or made available through S&P Global Trucost Limited
  2. Company-specific estimates: GHG emissions for each company modelled or estimated by Temasek or S&P Global Trucost Limited using relevant industry level carbon intensity or carbon efficiency averages as proxies (GHG emissions normalised by revenue/ market capitalisation/ other relevant operational unit of measurement). In case industry averages do not provide a meaningful proxy for the company, carbon intensity or efficiency data of the company or its comparable peers may be used instead.

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, an independent third party, has undertaken a limited assurance engagement on the selected portfolio emission metrics for financial years ended 31 March 2021, 31 March 2020 and 31 March 2011. Their assurance report can be found here.

Engagement of Our Portfolio & Stakeholders

Climate change, including the identification and proactive management of associated risks and opportunities is one of the focus areas of our external engagement.

We engaged the leadership as well as the operational teams of our Singapore-based portfolio companies on issues relating to climate change, shared knowledge around carbon measurement and expressed our expectation to understand their exposure to climate-related risks and opportunities.

Through our Ecosperity platform, we invite globally leading climate scientists, experts on natural resource management as well as climate-related financial disclosures to provide insights on relevant topics, such as physical climate risks, carbon emissions associated with the food value chain, carbon pricing as well as approaches to carbon offsetting to the broader business community.  

Temasek is also an active participant in local and global dialogues that relate to environmental disclosures and is a member of the Green Finance Industry Task force under the Monetary Authority of Singapore's Financial Centre Advisory Panel, the World Economic Forum (WEF), the Focusing Capital on the Long Term Initiative and the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB). 

Top

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date with our latest news, insights and stories

Select a type of content
    Please select Stories you are interested in.
    Please give us your consent.
    Please confirm that you are not a robot.

Close

聚焦气候变化

作为跨世代投资者,淡马锡深知在评估投资组合所面临的气候相关风险时,气候相关的财务信息至关重要,为我们努力支持低碳转型的道路上提供指引。

我们认为气候相关的风险和机遇对许多企业具有实质意义,我们鼓励企业在评估气候相关风险时,参考气候相关财务信息披露工作组(TCFD) 的建议,并在年度信息披露中纳入相关信息。

作为资产所有者、积极的投资者和股东,淡马锡致力于实现长期可持续的价值,公开支持气候相关财务信息披露工作组的建议,不断提升自身与投资组合公司的相关管理实践和信息披露。

淡马锡进行气候相关信息披露的领域包括:治理、策略、风险管理、指标和目标,以及投资组合及利益相关方的交流和参与情况。

治理

淡马锡已将气候相关的考量纳入治理结构。

淡马锡董事会监督由气候变化引起的财务和系统风险,这些风险可能影响投资组合的长期价值以及机构的健全稳定。我们的环境、社会和治理(ESG)政策亦由董事会批准。

淡马锡战略、投资组合及风险管理委员会(SPRC)负责监督我们的ESG政策,并将气候变化等ESG因素融入公司战略、投资、风险管理和运营管理流程。

淡马锡的脱售及投资高级委员会(SDIC)在做出塑造和管理投资组合的决策时,会考虑气候相关的风险及机遇。

管理层定期会向战略、投资组合及风险管理委员会及董事会报告投资组合的气候相关风险敞口,并寻求他们对气候相关策略的批准。

策略

作为跨世代投资者,我们意识到世界所迫切需要解决方案,在保护大自然的同时,助力实现更可持续的生活、更长的寿命和更充实的意义。技术不断转型、生活方式更可持续、寿命延长,人们的收入增加带动消费模式变化,生活水平得到提高,这些都驱动着结构性趋势向前发展。我们一直以来投资于这些结构性趋势,并将继续把握趋势,不断塑造投资组合。

秉持长期投资策略,我们正在深入了解气候变化对经济及个体企业的影响。这涵盖了两个维度:第一是实体风险,包括长期风险(长期影响例如生产力)和突发风险(极端天气);第二是转型风险,即支持绿色经济转型的法规所导致的资产突然贬值的风险。

鉴于该领域仍处于初期,前方充满未知,淡马锡采用情境分析的方法,判断不同气温变化路径所产生的潜在影响。我们的分析考虑了企业、政府和家庭对缓解气候相关风险的不同反应,从而增强了这种评估方式的动态因素。

我们将气候情境分析纳入淡马锡几何预期回报率模型(T-GEM),与其他宏观经济或地缘政治事件一道进行分析。该模型根据不同情境模拟20年的长期回报。

淡马锡以中度决心情境为基准,这一情境假设所有国家都遵循《巴黎协定》的关键承诺。具体而言,我们采用共享社会经济路径2(SSP2)代表性浓度路径4.5

鉴于全球市场走势和回报的固有不确定性,我们用淡马锡几何预期回报率模型模拟了不同情境下的20年预期回报。我们模拟两种替代情境,第一是缺乏决心情境,即转型影响为零但长远实体成本预期较高;第二是坚定决心情境,即承担近期较高的转型成本以避免或减少更长期的实体代价。

下表概括不同情境内容:

名称

情境

描述内容

到2100年气温涨幅

缺乏决心

共享社会经济路径2——基准

照常情境,反映现有气候政策及预期的技术成本趋势,没有进一步的政策变化。

4摄氏度

中度决心

共享社会经济路径2-45

纳入已公布政策的预期效果,包括《巴黎协定》下的国家自主贡献(NDCs)。

2.6摄氏度

坚定决心

共享社会经济路径2-26, FPS

假设延迟政策行动可将气温涨幅控制在2摄氏度以下。温度会在世纪中期飙升,必须依赖负碳排放技术。

1.7摄氏度

随着我们不断深入了解气候科学、监管法规进展及主要利益相关方的行动,我们预期这一分析将成为持续迭代的过程。因此,通过与该领域的一流专家定期交流,我们力求不断完善和强化分析能力。

风险管理

淡马锡在对新增投资和现有投资组合进行整体风险评估时,气候相关风险的识别、评估和管理已成为不可或缺的组成部分。从长远来看,我们将把对气候相关风险的理解纳入公司体系和流程中。

淡马锡的脱售及投资高级委员会在进行投资决策时,会将投资标的的ESG风险评估纳入考量。作为整体投资分析的一部分,ESG风险评估包括分析公司碳排放的绝对值和相对值、公司面临的实体和转型风险及其气候转型策略。例如,我们加入了当前每吨二氧化碳当量(tCO2e)42美元的内部碳价格,以评估可能的气候变化影响并指导投资决策。

根据投资规模大小或风险程度,这些投资建议可能会上报给淡马锡执行委员会或董事会,进行最终决策。在这一过程中,可持续发展团队和风险管理团队等职能部门会为上述委员会和董事会提供额外的专业见解。

为使投资组合实现长期成功,我们持续关注和管理投资组合(包括在单个资产层面)的气候相关风险。我们定期向高级管理层和董事会报告投资组合整体的ESG及气候相关风险敞口。

想了解淡马锡如何管理风险,请浏览“管理风险

指标和目标

作为投资公司,与我们业务有关联的气候相关风险及机遇可分为二类,一是运营的净碳排放量(范围一、二和部分范围三碳排放);二是投资组合的净碳排放量(部分范围三碳排放)。

i) 运营的净碳排放量

两年前,淡马锡设定并达到了公司层面碳中和的目标,且透过自愿碳市场的碳信用余额的购买及退款,保持至今。

年度环境足迹

1 吨二氧化碳当量 (tCO2e),是用于温室气体排放核算与报告中的标准单位。
2 在2021年之前,记录的范围三间接排放量仅包括来自商务旅行、公司活动和其他来源所产生的数据。废弃物产生的排放量自2021年1月1日起纳入数据。

我们测量运营中的碳排放总量和碳强度(碳排放量/员工),并致力于减少碳排放的绝对和相对值。在运营的风险和机遇方面,办公场所的用电量和商务旅行是我们碳排放的主要来源。长远来说,我们正在探索将可再生能源作为电力供应的途径,通过从自愿碳市场购买和退还碳信用额来抵消不可避免的碳排放。

点击此处,参阅我们的碳排放量具体信息表。

ii) 投资组合的净碳排放量

至于淡马锡投资组合,我们承诺到2030年将投资组合的净碳排放量总和降低为2010年排放水平的一半,并表达了我们到2050年实现投资组合净零碳排放的愿景。

向净零碳排放努力

1 吨二氧化碳当量(tCO2e),是用于温室气体排放核算与报告中的标准单位。
2 鉴于具备了更详细的公司层面数据和附属行业层面参照数据,2010年基准排放量(已在2011财年呈报)已修订为2,200万吨二氧化碳当量。我们2030年的目标(将在2031财年呈报)是将排放量降至1,100万吨二氧化碳当量,相当于2010年基准排放量的一半。
3 投资组合总排放量指我们股权投资组合相关的绝对温室气体排放量(范围一与范围二),不包括私募股权基金投资。
4 负碳排放量可以包括通过投资和碳信用额度而获取的补偿(即避免碳排放)与中和(即碳清除)。

我们所采用的投资组合排放指标(如下)符合相关国际标准,如气候相关财务揭露(TCFD)工作小组对资产所有者的建议以及温室气体核算体系等:

指标 说明

投资组合总排放量

(吨二氧化碳当量)

 

投资组合相关的绝对温室气体排放量(范围一与范围二),以吨二氧化碳当量(tCO2e)表示

投资组合碳强度

(吨二氧化碳当量/百万新元)

 

根据投资组合市场价值正态化转换的投资组合相关的温室气体排放量,以吨二氧化碳当量/百万新元(tCO2e/S$M)表示

我们的投资组合排放量包括淡马锡对上市和非上市股权的直接投资,但不包括对私募股权基金、信贷及其他资产的投资。

所列报的投资组合排放量包括相关公司根据最新数据集统计的范围一与范围二排放量。

我们结合各公司列报的排放数据与建模方法,根据我们在各资产中的比例份额(即所有者权益)来测算我们的投资组合排放量。

我们采用以下数据来源层级以测算我们的投资组合排放量。该层级以数据的可获性和列报数据的及时性为考量依据,并尽可能使用可获的公司列报数据:

  1. 公司列报的数据:公司直接向淡马锡列报,或通过标普全球Trucost有限公司列报的温室气体排放数据
  2. 公司特有的估计:淡马锡或标普全球Trucost有限公司通过采用相关行业水平的平均碳强度或碳效率作为替代指标(根据收入/市值/其他相关运营测算单位将温室气体排放量进行正态化转换),对各公司的温室气体排放量进行建模或估计。如果行业的平均数值无法作为该公司的有效替代指标,该公司或可比同行公司的碳强度或碳效率数据可能作为替代指标。

普华永道会计师事务所作为独立的第三方,已针对选定的投资组合排放量在截至2021年3月31日、2020年3月31日、2011年3月31日的财政年度的碳排放量进行有限鉴证服务。浏览普华永道会计师事务所的鉴证报告,请登陆.

投资组合及利益相关方的交流和参与情况

气候变化是淡马锡展开与利益相关方交流的重点领域之一,包括了辨别和主动管理相关风险和机遇。

我们与新加坡的投资组合公司的领导层及运营团队一起交流气候变化的相关议题,分享碳测量的相关知识,并表达了我们进一步了解投资组合公司面临的气候风险及机遇的期望。

通过淡马锡“生态繁荣”平台,我们邀请全球领先的气候科学家、自然资源管理和气候相关财务信息披露方面的专家,分享见解,针对气候实体风险、食品价值链相关的碳排放、碳定价及碳补偿方式等课题与广大商业群体进行交流。

淡马锡积极参与在本国及全球有关环境信息披露的对话,我们也是新加坡金融管理局金融中心咨询团绿色金融工作小组、世界经济论坛、长期关注资本倡议和可持续会计准则委员会 (SASB)的成员。